To the world of wonder and fantasy

I am home at present. I was supposed to be working from home, waiting for the boilerman,. However I am actually home sick waiting for the boiler man. SO is away on business so I am actually quite bored out of my skull.

I am not down with the mexican flu or anything. I am running a bit of a temperature, but not enough to be considered a fever my intestines are protesting against the idea of food, though I hold everything in and my sinus and head changing on an hourly basis between normal and exploding. That and pain in just about every muscle I have. So I assume my body is fighting a flu and doing a great job at it.

In this state one starts to wander the weird and wonderful internet and finds things that are highly amusing. Being a SF fan I am used to the discovery of new and old places that though non existent are highly familiar to many. The most obvious one of course being Middle Earth. Mystical and yet due to Tolkiens book so much like next door. Sure the movies having been shot in NZ do amplify that feeling. People have always been attracted to new places. As with Jean-Luc Picard said; to boldly go etc. I do also understand that there are a significant number of nerd working in the iT industry, and that a high percentage of those people are SF or fantasy fans. So the biggest giggle this day should not come as a complete surprise.

It seems Google in addition to mapping existing places has also taken it upon themselves to invent new ones. There are a few know ones. The most well known one at present is Argleton, Lancs. This one caught my attention as I used to live in Lancs (Preston) and I wanted to know where I could possibly find this place so close to my old home. Needless to say I’d never been there. Omskirk yes. Argleton no. However some people have visited the imaginary place based on the Google map and have found a nice muddy field. Of course one of the possible explanations is that it was swallowed up or eaten or something else much more related to fantasy.  Argleton is not the only place that has been found to appear magically on Google Maps. Others are  Donkey town also in the UK, but Surrey. Come to think of it I also lived there, in Horely and there is also Middle Earth in Maryland, where I did not live, hence it is not me that is involved  Somehow it does not come as a surprise that two out of three are in the UK. After all it is where both J.R.R. Tolkien en J.K. Rowling hail from. A country still steeped in the past and where being eccentric is still cool.
Hogwarts and Harry Potter located there. This then of course leads to a conclusion that this is magic and we mere muggles should not be aware of all this. Maybe the ministry of magic needs to be play a few more tricks or maybe the internet is too much for the wizards to control.

No matter what the reasoning is It gave me a good giggle when I was feeling crappy

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Home life, Pampering and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to To the world of wonder and fantasy

  1. Gilraen says:

    trinewarming wrote on Nov 4, ’09
    Hope you feel better!
    See you soon. :oD

    gilraensurion wrote on Nov 4, ’09
    I am 100% determined to beat this before I come to see you! ;-)

    lamondine wrote on Nov 5, ’09
    that reminds me: have you been to http://www.kasteeldehaar.nl/uk/index_flash.htm during the Elf Fantasy fair?

    gilraensurion wrote on Nov 6, ’09, edited on Nov 6, ’09
    I have visited the castle (some 20 years ago I think) but not during the Elf fantasy. We went there with my sorority I think, on gorgeous sunfilled day. It is the weirdest feeling there as the castle is actually not old at all But is is beautiful

    netheandersen wrote on Nov 16, ’09
    Hi-hi! Magic cities. I need to get around more on google earth!

Leave a Reply

