Just some bitty bits

The sniffles decided on a last desperate attempt to get me down this week. They nearly succeeded, but a hot bath and an early night saved me.

This weekend was great for the both of us. We had an early start in Saturday, because well we woke up early SO tried a new soup (peanut soup with Brussels sprouts and sausage bread. I tried my first Naan bread (was not happy about it) and we were flat on our backsides watching the olympics.

I also got to talk to E my NZ friend. It can be hard to catch people on Skype at that distance but it worked this time, Though we did the text message for a bit as I was waking up still. It is at times like that I realise that I miss my NZ friends on a regular basis. I mean with all friends you have a different connection. Each has a personality that makes that you ar given a different viewpoint and each is a good friend, just highlights different parts of my personality. But then again when I was in NZ I missed Dutch friends. Such are the troubles of those that have lived around the world in different places. Guess I’m lucky to live now where electronic communications make it easier to stay in touch with people. But it is hard when you are in a state of mind and know exactly which friend would be the right person, but unfortunately they are asleep as it is the middle of the night. Oh well if that is the extend of my problems in this life then I am extremely lucky :-)

Today SO went running again – He is so still on his half marathon training schedule. But today there was wind force 7, a southwesterly storm. We started taking the wind head on. At one stage it was up one of the dyke at an area where there is no hiding from the wind, nothing that breaks it. Both SO and I (on the bike) just battled our way up until we got to the corner where we turned and the wind was blowing from the side. It just feels as a mini victory when you are up there, never mind there were still 9 km to go, but that was the point where we went homeward. The side wind was on occasion so strong that I had to steer toward the wind to avoid being blown into the water (never far from a canal here). Best pint? Turning again and having the wind in my back. SO mentioned later: You were not cycling at all and yet I saw you getting smaller and smaller, disappearing into the distance.” It is true; the wind was so strong that I made it to 18 km/h without doing anything. It was just the wind blowing me forward……………and it felt fantastic!

So really we are having a great weekend getting back to where we want to be after the battle of the sniffles.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Food, Friends, Home life, Sports, Stuff, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just some bitty bits

  1. draliman says:

    We’ve got a wind blowing here too!
    It is great that we live in an age when we can easily talk to people so far away (if they’re awake, as you said!). Even with WP comments, if the person replies straight away and I know they’re in the US or wherever, I get a little shiver that I’m “talking” to someone so far away.

    • Gilraen says:

      I love the fact that communication has become so global. Guess it teaches us more about each others culture though our own stories.

Leave a Reply

