On the run

Oh dear it is the time of the year again. The time when we know teenagers live next door.

Remember our neighbours lovely birthday party last year? He’s doing it again. This time though we got a note a week before the event. The note states dear neighbours I will be having my 18th birthday party on Friday (Valentines day) and it will be a happy lively party with the music at normal volume level. We will finish the party around 1 am. sincerely your neighbour.

Err………….yes……………quite. As SO (who found the note) looked at me I went though just about every response and flashback you can image in a time span of about 2 milliseconds. “Somehow I think his definition of a normal volume level is quite different from mine” I manged to squeeze out as positively as I could master. SO laughed and agreed. We also agreed not to storm out and pull up the neighbours on this event.  We discussed briefly how we felt; we did receive quite a bit of warning time this time. But really Another night like last year? The thought was enough to make me nervous. It also made us realise that we had to do something as we are still so preciously low on energy. We slept on it for one night.

The next morning SO was packing for his business trip and I turned to him and said; I think we need to investigate the opening times of Hotel Mum. We stood there silently and decided yes we were going to go to my parents place if my parents were not otherwise engaged or had visitors (you know they have a life too). Thankfully they do and mum is looking forward to seeing us, poor noise refugees. I know we said hotel and having them pay for it, but they did give us ample of warning this time. We have the chance to make and escape, run away from our own beds and have a nice pampering at our favourite Inn.

It feels as we are being forced out of our house and quite possibly it will not be as bad as the previous year (which was the worst of all years). But really he is growing up slowly and boy two is not making any noises about noisy parties. Furthermore they are the neighbours and really other than this little thing they are good neighbours. It is a little sacrifice and we manage to make it into something positive. After all my parents are always happy to see us, so I guess it gets us brownie points for turning to mum and dad when in need. Can’t be all bad.And now that it is all decided, I am actually looking forward to it :-).  SO is going by car from work and I am taking the train from my work. Should be fun.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Family, Feelings, Home life, Stuff, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to On the run

  1. Positive thinking – good for the pair of you. And I bet you both have a lovely time at Hotel Mum and I bet she will love having you. Win, win for everyone.

  2. draliman says:

    The Great Escape sounds like the best plan. At least it’s only one day a year – some people have to live with stuff like this constantly.
    I hope you have a good little break!

  3. Pingback: Double weekend | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

