Never waste an opportunity

As a result of my previous post I took the train on Friday to my parents. Weather was atrocious (though mild when compared to the UK)

As I had to forgo a walk to work already on Thursday I decided to walk to the main station instead of getting on at my work stop. Takes about 35 minutes to walk but it managed to get me rather wet. Getting on the train was a mission as all local students were trying to get on as well. Man I had forgotten that those weekend bags are a menace when it is about 25 of them at the same time getting though a door. Thankfully I had decided to travel 1st class so I had a seat.

On the two hour journey I slowly dried up and mum picked me up from their train station. She immediately informed me she had come up with a plan for us for the next day – She needed a new laptop and decided that the three of us were going to buy one, after all we are the iT helpdesk and as such are required ingredients to the purchase.

Dad was not going to be involved. He was having a rough time with a cold that caused him to cough and sound as an engine that needed some serious tuning. Poor man, he has never been good at being ill, so had kept going with his well known ostrich attitude for a while, but he was down. Could not even manage laughing very well, he just did not have the air for it.

So off we went the next morning buy a laptop. Mum had a hard time, feeling a little overwhelmed at all the laptops and information. So we dragged her out and got a cup coffee as she calmed down and again returned to her wish list. Then we bought the laptop. SO and I bought her a good printer – after all she will be 70 in three weeks – as a birthday present. She was most surprised and happy.

SO then had to install the thing. Given that it is Windows 8 on the computer that took some time and SO was really not a happy chappy for a while. It was not as easy as anticipated. But SO being SO he beat the Windows machine into some for of submission and it is working, as is the printer. However it took a lot longer than anticipated and we ended up not going home until 19.30.

Now we are having a nice peaceful sunday relaxing. Parents are happy with both our visit and the new equipment. We are happy that we had a good night sleep on Friday night. All is well.Enhanced by Zemanta

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Family, Feelings, Home life, shopping, Stuff, Travel, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Never waste an opportunity

  1. draliman says:

    My Dad wanted a laptop recently (he’s in his seventies) so I sorted one out and configured it for him – but I insisted on Windows 7 Pro. I had to configure a Windows 8 machine at work a few weeks earlier and I nearly threw it through a wall. No way I was going to do it again for fun :-)

    Friday was an appalling weather day here in the UK. I picked up the keys for the house I’ve just bought and went to see it. I nearly got blown off the road and barely got home before the roads began to flood (again) :-(

    • Gilraen says:

      Ah keys to the house. How exciting! we need pictures and in depth blogposts about moving house etc.

      Windows 8 is such a different kettle of OS it is amazing and infuriating at the same time. It was the first time for SO he was working with it and he was so glad when he found the way to the old fashioned desktop.
      Today he tried the remote desktop with my parents (the emergency procedure as the distance is too great for a quick visit) and that worked in one go.

      If we’d had the chance we’d ahve bought Win 7 as well but no such luck anymore in the ‘normal’ stores

      • draliman says:

        To get Windows 7 for my Dad (and also one for me) I had to use Dell Outlet. I got a £1200 laptop for £650 (just because someone didn’t want it and sent it back!).
        It is completely impossible to find Win 7 in any shop, or “home user” online store.

  2. Anonymous says:

    I am also going to be forced to help my mum upgrade her computer soon, due to the demise of XP and also her current computer crashing in weird ways anyway. I am not looking forward to being the helpdesk for that steep learning curve. She has finally gotten used to her iPad mini, so I was hinting that she maybe needs to go towards an Apple solution. But she is fearful that we won’t be able to transfer all my dad’s heritage applications. Fear of change is natural at her age and I just cannot convince her that this change is necessary and also being forced upon us with some degree of urgency…

    • Gilraen says:

      It can be hard with elderly parents. But it would help to investigate if those applications would work on apple. The apple forum has a good Q&A area for these sorts of questions. It may help

  3. Pingback: Family – ups and downs | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

