My harvest

Yes yes yes Stoffenspektakel time again and this time I had room in my fabric area that desperately needed filling up.

Not the last few time I went an early morning start made that I had time to look around and get out before it got busy. Or make a day out of it with sewing buddies. Not so this time.  M. could not make it due to work commitments and really she had not make a big enough dent in her stash to warrant a visit. My sewing teacher did not want to go. So I decided then it was just me myself and I.

SO had a day off too (this was Friday) as he was helping his parents with an errand. I with the first train after 9.00, which allows me to travel with a discount. It is not far so I was there by 9.45. I was not the first. Lots of people, lots of rolling suitcases, rolling shopping bags and as time went on lots of prams used to hide children under a pile of fabric.

By 10.30 it was massively busy. I was talking to one of the ladies on the stand (one I always buy from) and she said that every time it is organised it is gets more busy. They’d even brought in an extra person this time.

I had a list but it was hard to find everything. Not because of lack of choice, but more because it was hard to get to the different stands! In the end I bought 10 different fabrics (on average 2m each) and twin needles, universal needles and some thread.

my fabric haulfrom top, going clockwise:

  • 2 m denim, as I need new jeans,
  • lavender pink tricot that wants to be a simple shirt 2 m
  • striped cotton on purple (South American inspired) wants to be a skirt 2 m
  • three tricot jersey fabrics, cheapish stuff¬† for shorts that can be worn under skirts 1 m each
  • multi coloured arty stretch cotton. Wants to be a top of some sort 2 m.
  • purple floral piece 2 m was bought as lining for a black jacket, but is trying to change my mind.
  • blue/green swirly viscose 3.5 m a summer dress, to be worn with slipdress as it is see through and I do not want to line it.
  • white cotton/linnen with checked square pieces and embroidery. jumped into my hands by accident. 3.5 m and really would like to be a button-up dress.

There was so much more there, but by then I really had had enough. Not of the fabrics (never enough of that) but having to wait, trying to get around the prams that stop right in front of you. *sigh* it was massively busy! I went home.

 

As I arrived SO was still with his parents and I collapsed. I love my fabrics but I did not get everything I wanted, but you know at least I have some more sewing to do and I can shop a bit more in a few weeks when there is a local fabric market. The rest of the day was spent pouring over the Burda website.

Not that much sewing this weekend as I have an injured finger (hand sewing and needle interaction  gone bad) as well as just wanting to be outside. Spring is soooo much in the air.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Home life, Interesting, Sewing, shopping, Stuff, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My harvest

  1. Jennifer says:

    It’s hard to shop for fabric anywhere and with all of that commotion around – it must be awfully hard! Great choices and I can’t wait to see the result!

    • Gilraen says:

      Shopping like that was hard. It meant I did not get some choices as they were at the other end of the stal and I just could not be bothered to fight my way in again.

      You know what? I am so curious as to what the dresses will become. At this stage I have no idea :-)

Leave a Reply

