In and out of the darkness

Back at work started with a bang. Quite literally. Power went off at 8.30 am in all of Auckland.
Some good sides to it. Finally had the chance to tidy up my office and to file that huge huge pile of paper that had accumulated over the last two months. Accounts got checked without time limitation. I should note that I had to change the complete lay out of my desk so I could use as much natural light as possible. Which, given the atrocious weather, was not very much to start with. was quite cold working like that.
My boss decided to treat us to lunch from the pizza place down the road. They had a generator for back up. He included very welcome coffee and hot chocolate.

At about 3pm power was back on at work and the frantic catching up started.
DBF called for a pick up as the weather was still rather wet and when we arrived home just two blocks down from work, we found the area still dark. Just our luck different grid.
Lucky we have some canned foods that can be eaten cold. I had fresh bread buns baked on Sunday evening and we started a fire to warm up, as well as getting the candles out for light. Just as we had our little launch up and running for a lazy night the lights went back on. Has been stable since.
Work is work and as I leave in 17 working days (not that I am counting ) I have ceased to care too much. Works wonders for my stress levels. I am finishing of my major major project and that is it as far as I am concerned. Oh yes and I also note that I am waking up again in the middle of the night, did not do that much when I was sick.

Today I cut out a new sewing project. Simple tunic top out of a Burda WOF. Read the instruction and decided I was going to discard them. One I finish I will write a review. Hope it will be pretty.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Home life, Work and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

