Lazy Sunday

Flu seems to be around still and both (X)BF and I still have left over sniffles so we are taking it easy.

Yesterday we went to Silvia Park, the new shopping complex not far from where we live. Only 1/3 is open to the public but last week there was a traffic jam in the middle of Auckland as people flocked to see it. As usual everybody tried to get through gate 1. Luckily I knew where to find gate 5. A well hidden entrance that had no problems this weekend. We even found a parking spot immediately.

The mall is fantastically beautiful, but they have these gorgeous polished tiles on the floor They look awesome. They do not feel awesome when it is wet outside. You are propelled straight into the mall as if you are on skates. Very unsafe feature. So we slid into the mall and after that we were extra careful.
We were impressed with the shops there, The Warehouse Extra was impressive. For a Red Shed impeccably tidy. This one has a supermarket as well and not bad I do have to say.
We also had a good hard look a the the new Foodtown flagship supermarket. It was like walking into a combination of a French Carrefour (most evident in the cheese/dairy isle), a British Sainsbury/Tesco and Dutch Albert Heijn. Well laid out, with wide aisles where you can pass properly. Large deli counters. Good helpful staff. Interesting assortment (larger than the Greenlane Foodtown. For instance Ostrich, Quail and Quail-eggs as well as Poussin.
The deli counter has a good selection of real imported dutch cheeses (very Albert Heijn in lay out), with real Edam cheese Not the plastic they sell as Edam here. I succumbed to some Dutch goat’s cheese.

In the evening I was asked to participate in a communications training questionnaire for a friend who works for MAF Biosecurity at the Airport. It made me realise that though NZ and Dutch society have a lot in common there are still large differences. Was good to do.

Today I think we are aiming at doing close to nothing, and up to now apart from some coffee and bread bun making that is working exceedingly well.
All I really want to do today is write to my brother for some bits that go into his eulogy speech at my gran’s funeral tomorrow. I am having trouble coming up with something that is concise and does not end up in a story, and yet original, something that would not be anything my brother would already say.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Home life, shopping, Weekend and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

