Calming down

Been a busy two days All kinds of jobs that needed doing I did in the first two days.
I signed my new contract on Monday as well as cleaning around the house. Even cleaned my fridge. I went shopping for a bit. All this because I had a long day as I got up at 5.30am to watch the world cup football finals.
Yesterday I redid part of the bookshelves. We are going to have a heating unit installed and of course this is exactly where we have a bookshelf. Not that there are any walls without one, but this particular shelf comes up to the ceiling.

So what I did: Take all books off. Then take all things off the laundry Lundia. Then swap a tall bookshelf side stand on the Lundia to the Laundry one, which is shorter – make new holes in the tall one as otherwise the stability cross does not fit. Transfer the short stand to the bookshelf. Fight with the shelves that now do not fit in their usual places anymore and put all the books, minus two shelves that were designated to disappear, back onto the new shelves. Clean up laundry and reassemble that area. Of course I took the opportunity to clean all the shelves as well. Collapse.
It should be noted that during the whole exercise I had the company of a very handsome yet irritating little grey pussycat around me. He has this particular talent of being where he should not be.

Far more relaxing was having the car washed at the Carfe. You go there, you give the keys to somebody, you pay and get a coffee and some magazines and then 45 minutes later you are handed your key back and off you go in a clean car. Expensive but very enjoyable. Decided to do this as the car had not had a valet for at least 18 months and was well extremely dirty.

This morning I will be doing some sewing and this afternoon I will be at my new job for a bit for a handover. My predecessor is leaving on Friday and I am not starting until the 24th. So I decided that this was a good way of seeing her without being fully working. My bosses agreed. I am not going there until lunchtime though
So I better get into the shower and sewing for a bit.

Really I am calming down even though when re reading this I look like I am all over the place. But I am having fun and the weather is looking up so why not

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Home life, Sewing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

