Mother of Storms

John Barnes Mother of Storms. This was the first book I ever read by John Barnes. Since then I have been hooked on his books. Unfortunately his books are very hard to find here in NZ, but still I managed to accumulate most over the years.
I recently re re-read this book just to see why I loved it so much.Barnes has a very fluid style in his books and this is no exception. As it is deals with
weather disaster theory it is kinda close to home. In this book internet has taken on a
whole new meaning with XV. He highlights what it can do and also what harm can be
done to the human psyche by it. He shows to what things some scum will go for their
pleasure.
The world order has changed, partially due to social unrest partially due to the fact it
always changes. Problems start by an unprecedented release of methane into the air.
A process that has dire consequences faraway from were the bomb exploded. Super
hurricanes form. Devastating entire islands. Barnes weaves in small story lines
unrelated to the main characters to illustrate what is happening at ground level and
the extend of what is happening.
In between all this destruction he finds room to develop love story lines. Some are
doomed some are not Some take a take a very strange turn. One of the story lines
between Carla and Louis Tynan can be seen as a precursor to the meme storyline he
develops in later books.
The book does not really have a happy ending, more an ending of hope that closure.
I love this book because it weaves well it is a complete book. The whole picture is
painted in all it’s gory and pretty details. In all it’s details it shows a plausible story,
something that could happen because we (the human race) are stupid enough to
make the mistakes he explores.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

