Pirates of the Caribean part 2

Good Solid Movie. Lot’s of fun. However it misses the element of suspense that made
the first movie so intensely good. It is a kid’s movie but for adults. Story line is thin
and as the third movie is already filmed (at the same time as the second) the movie is
very very open ended, but I liked it well enough to go and watch part three as well.
Both Johnny Depp and Orlando Bloom are yum.
There are some outstanding scenes. The chase with the waterwheel is hilarious and
very well done. The cannibal sequence is funny to fault. The movie clearly has
borrowed a lot from the old slap stick type comedies, Think Laurel and Hardy, without
crossing the line to over the top and B-grade. though it skirts the line in my opinion a
few times
One of the best things about the movie was with the cannibals. Jack Sparrow has
extra eyes pained on his cheeks but also on his eyelids. So when he closes his eyes it
looks as if he has open eyes again. It makes for a very odd and disconcerting look.
Costumes for the Flying Dutchman crew mean that I think that that Oscar should just
be handed out. There is no competition. The attention to detail is incredible, The
costumes are alive (as is the ship). The music is well chosen and in some cases the
main reason for the laugh. All in all I think that those would be the only two oscars it
stands a chance for.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

