Indian Food addiction

This weekend I am catching up with some friends. Looking forward to it. One I am going over to her shop and for the other we are going to have lunch at Il Forno an Italian bakery. The latter friend is moving to Christchurch (lucky girl) next month so possibly the last time I catch up with her in person before she leaves. Given that over the last year and a half one of us has been out of the country we haven’t had much time to talk. First I was in Europe for 6 months. We caught up when I got back (once), then she went on a sabbatical to Canada for 7 months and she returned a month and a half ago. So it has been hard maintaining a friendship.

Work is awesome. My boss sent me an email that he loves working with me and that he already trusts my judgment more than he did my predecessors after a year. Only one drawback of work. The guys are all Punjabi Indian and bring in their food for lunch and share it. We are all allowed to taste and it is heavenly! The other day we were making hummus. For those who do not know. The chickpea base is cooked whole then crushed later. Well they cooked about 5 kg more than they needed and used some left over productions as a sauce and then spiced it the Indian way. I went back for 4(!) small servings. I was so impressed.
The thing is this is home made Indian food and though spicy it is not hot and I am loving it Much better than anything I have ever tasted in a restaurant.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Food, Work and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Indian Food addiction

  1. Gilraen says:

    trinewarming wrote on Aug 14, ’06, edited on Aug 14, ’06
    If you’re toying with the idea of moving to DK, take a look at these companies – there might be some interesting job opportunities there…
    http://www.novonordisk.com/ – Mostly pharmaceuticals, but the company has a very good reputation on how they treat their employees.
    Or you could get into developing chewing gum… http://www.gumlink.com/gumlinkcms/da/Jobs/OpenPositions/Product+Developer.htm
    Or maybe the milk giant has something of interest: http://www.arla.com
    There is also a job bank for English speaking people: http://www.jobsincopenhagen.com/

    ;o)

    gilraensurion wrote on Aug 14, ’06
    I’ll definitely give it a go. May have you look at the CV for Danish purposes. Also planning on signing up with a European Recruitment agency

Leave a Reply

