The dating thing

I went on my date yesterday evening. Let’s just say; he is very nice and decent guy but he bored my socks off after about an hour. Managed to stretch things to two hours with the food and a walk around Viaduct Basin but then I really just switched off and decided enough was enough and went home. Apart from our respective cats we really have nothing in common. So possibly nice to keep in contact with to go an see a movie but nothing more will come of this.

I feel good though that at least I dipped my toes in the dating pool and still can do the dating thing, In a way the fact that the first date was ho-hum and not exciting is actually a good thing. No pressure and just a feel good factor added.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Feelings, Friends and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The dating thing

  1. Gilraen says:

    trinewarming wrote on Aug 21, ’06
    It proooobably would also complicate things a bit if you went and fell in love with someone new, while you’re still in the house, or am I wrong? :o)

    I think dating agencies are probably quite fun, and a few of my friends have found their husbands through one, but doesn’t it take all the fun out of getting to know people? You can get to know their darkest, innermost secrets, without even knowing whether their smile turns you on… I kinda feel it’s gotta be the other way around, or you’ll be in danger of ending up with a comfortable friend that you don’t want to have sex with, instead of a lover/life partner that sends shivers down your spine even after a loooong time!

    Maybe that’s just my prejudice speaking. The friends I mention are not exactly in situations/relationships that I envy… And besides, going on blind dates is probably a lot of fun!

    gilraensurion wrote on Aug 21, ’06
    Blind date is fun and besides XBF is dating too. Des complicate matters a bit but all in all I think moving for a few months is more hassle.
    Blind date is fun in a way, but this date and I were just chatting. I knew nothing about his innermost secrets (Still don’t) only knew he came across like somebody who was nice and I wanted to have a drink with. Yes I would love to have a relationship like you describe but I did not have that with XBF anymore and he and I met on a conventional manner in a pub. So no guarantees there either

Leave a Reply

