Birthday present to myself

Yesterday I bought myself a birthday present. The complete Firefly series was on special at $55. Could not say no to that now could I?

Further good news. A friend form the Gym has offered me her spare bike until I go back to Europe. It is just gathering dust anyway. All I need is a helmet. Easy enough that one.

Last but not least my cousin is coming to NZ for a holiday (3rd time) and though initially she was thinking of just being on the South Island she has now decided that her cousin could do with a little bit of friendliness and that she want to spend a few days on the North Island. SI on the 26th she’ll fly to Auckland. We’ll hire a car and will trek around for a few days until she has to leave on the 31st.
Details have to be sorted but things that have been mentioned are the Lost Valley in Taupo, black water rafting in Waitomo, Rotorua and Hobbitton. Want to make it do-able and relaxing but also entertaining so a lot depends on her schedule. But I am very much looking forward to it. Rest of the time I’ll be working but a week off with my cousin definitely will not go amiss.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Family, Home life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Birthday present to myself

  1. Gilraen says:

    tyellas wrote on Sep 10, ’06
    Yay on the bike, the present, and the upcoming vacation! Don’t forget to take your friend hiking up in Titirangi, or at least up to the Visitor’s Centre there. You could also do the temperate-rainforest train trip.

    trinewarming wrote on Sep 20, ’06
    Hmmm. I miss NZ a lot right now! Could you possibly go out to Piha, or maybe Muriwai and say Hi from me?

    Blackwater rafting, as you know, was scary in the highest degree for me, but everyone else seemed to enjoy it – so maybe you will to. Personally I feel that you couldn’t pay me enough to go down that deep black hole in the ground again!!! Eeek! :o0

Leave a Reply

