A pirates date

Tonight I went out with a man I met at NZ Dating. It was slightly impromptu and a bit faster than either of us had anticipated. The reason? He had something I wanted.
This man approached me at the dating site with a very funny email that immediately caught my attention in a positive way. I read his profile and decided he was fun enough to mail with. We mailed on a daily basis for a week and then upgraded to txt-ing. At that stage I had no idea what he looked like nor did he know what I looked like but we clicked and I think I txt-ed my monthly allowance away .

Last Sunday we decided to have a real chat on the phone I think we both expected that to be the next step for about a week or so. But during the conversation pirates came up. He mentioned that he was the proud owner of a hanger with one of those pirates heads and crossbones. A he got my attention fully on that. So I decided to be cheeky and asked if I could borrow it for my upcoming weekend in Wellington and he said yes.
So we’ll make it a date and really the only evening that we could both make it was tonight.

It was short (about an hour) as he did not manage to get a long term sitter for his son who lives with him. So he had to leave by 8, but it was good to meet him and generally speaking it went well. We went for a stroll along Tamaki Drive and had something to drink the the Belgian cafe. He seemed a bit shy-ish. He is not a Colin Firth but nice, friendly and funny. Definitely more dress sense than the XBF.  So he did not sweep me of my feet but he did not repulse me either. At least he could be a friend

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Friends and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A pirates date

  1. Gilraen says:

    trinewarming wrote on Sep 12, ’06
    Wow, from the headline, I almost thought you’d been on a date with Johnny Depp!!! ;o)

    Good luck with Mr. Hanger!

Leave a Reply

