Wonderful weekend away

I am soo much more relaxed now. Tyellas let me rant and rave about XBF as much as I wanted. As she possibly knew him best of all my friends her insight into him was invaluable. We had so much fun and such a busy weekend. Wellington put on it’s best face for me. The weather was amazing.

I arrived on Friday evening to be whisked away to a chocolate dessert that was hugely satisfying and hit exactly the right spot.
The evening was filled with catching up and chatting chatting chatting.
Saturday we went to get a pirates hat after we had breakfast at THE LOTR crew cafe; ‘The chocolate fish’- They do an excellent salmon and egg dish. We drove down to one of the regional parks where we stopped off in Rivendell. A magical place. We then went to the Stansborough Grey Weavers where I treated myself to a scarf with the shadow weave I selected one with red as the grey grey is too much for me. Mind you I would disappear like the hobbits did.
The pirates party had great potential but was sadly interrupted by the weather. In short; it got cold. But it was fun from a perspective of meeting people. The dinner we had afterward was not repeatable and the restaurant in question will not be frequented again.

On Sunday after coffee at Fidel’s (you can put the spoon in the coffee and it stands up) accompanied by a Brioche the size of our heads, we went shopping. Tyellas took me to one of her favourite jewellers and there it was The ring. It wanted to come home with me and it did. This ring was made by Jens Hansen The maker of the one ring Mine is silver with a garnet set into it. It is awesome Tyellas wanted to give me something for my birthday as well as a remembrance of NZ and herself. This ring is perfect. I will take a picture this weekend. Of course I cried afterwards. The tears are quite easy flowing at present

Then we had lunch with friends of hers before it was off to the alpaca farm. We had a brilliant time there. Specifically the part where we were killing the milk bottles was fantastic. For the uninitiated. Killing milk bottles: Fill milk bottle with water. Put on top of some logs. Take ferocious looking (sharp) sword. Step toward the bottle. Sword foot forward. Swing sword attempt to cut slice off bottle. If latter does not work it will be knocked off and land about 3 m further. If successful the victim will bleed its’ water. Repeat exercise until well and truly sliced. Finish with vertical chops. Get body bags for recycling the left overs in.

The the weekend was over But wait there is more! Over Christmas I will be going again
Tyellas thank you again for this weekend you are a She even gave me her bed to sleep in.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Friends, Weekend and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wonderful weekend away

  1. Gilraen says:

    trinewarming wrote on Sep 20, ’06
    Sounds like such a wonderful time! I hope there’s a lot more like this in store for you – you’ve deserved it!!!
    The Grey Weavers thing, and the LOTR cafe and the Jens Hansen (ooh, he’s a Dane by the way! And here we all thought it was Sauron, the Evil Overlord who forged the One Ring…) sounds great, and makes me regret that we didn’t “do” Wellington when we were in NZ. Oh well, we’ll just have to make amends for that next time we get there, won’t we! :o)

    gilraensurion wrote on Sep 20, ’06
    I looked it up and yes he was Danish

    tyellas wrote on Sep 21, ’06
    Trinewarning, if you’re in Wellington, I’ll show you around like I did Gilraen!

    trinewarming wrote on Sep 21, ’06
    That sounds great, Ty! For the moment a trip to NZ is mostly wishful thinking though – no way we’re going to be able to afford it the next few years… :o(

Leave a Reply

