Major work break through

I have mentioned once or twice that I love my job and that I have been making real inroads. Today a major major breakthrough happened.
My managing director (the chef) is an entrepreneur. He is also the NPD technologist, something I am very happy with. Sure it creates the schizophrenic situation that I have to manage my boss and well that has been the most difficult part of my job. Hugely challenging to get a true chef with a real flair to change recipes on the spot to work inside the system.

Finally today he gave in. He finally saw the light I sat in my office and screamed YES! when he had come in to tell us (me and ops) that he was over the line for systems. He has agreed to work within the system as he sees why NPD was getting harder and harder and more and more frustrating for the people on the line. We have agreed on a workable solution for both. He saw my systems working so well and where I had implemented them a reduction of mistakes and a level of control he is unaccustomed to. Now we have a system that allows me and production control to a high level on any batches and trials. It also allows him that flair that he is accustomed to and that makes him happy.

His main concern is that he feels everything is done in 4-fold. This is true for now until I have trained him up in my system and then he will see that that is a much easier system and he will adopt it. At least that is the plan. It also means I can push trials much earlier to the forefront and manage the boss better.

This is both a major breakthrough for the company, but also such a vote of confidence in my systems and abilities by the chef that it is actually mind blowing. This is the only area where the chef and I always have had issues.

Yes I think the universe loves me at the moment There is no other way to explain all what is happening in my life

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Food, Work and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

