Job hunt stepped up

I decided that going back is the only option for me. As said only for the right job. However where I was dealing with just one recruitment agency up till now I have decided to up the search. I am working through a NZ company and have also contacted two recruitment agencies in the Netherlands. I am planning this week to go to some more. Any ideas in that area are more than welcome from all of you.

I have been thinking a lot about this. You all know that I love my job and I like my life here at present. The main pull to stay has been the fact that my current company will be starting to build next year. However I know also that with the current speed I have in my projects and what I have already done the challenge is not big enough to keep me going for a long time. That combined with knowing that I need to make the next step in my career and that NZ cannot offer me what I want makes going back from a professional perspective the only way to go. Even my NZ recruitment agency agreed that there are not many opportunities for me left here, just because of the scale of things.

So I will be back in 2007, not sure when in 2007, but I am hoping for two summers in a row. In fact I am hoping to be home for my Mum’s birthday in March but that is tentative and not written in stone. I have decided I want to be home for christmas next year, no matter what. Sinterklaas is the other one I want to celebrate again.

So 10 years of NZ is coming to a close next year. 30 December 2006 I have lived here 10 years. No regrets, I have loved it here and I will always love this country but it is time to prepare to say goodbye.
It has been one of the hardest decisions in my life. Leaving a very comfortable situation for a new adventure, but you only live once and this is what I have to do.

So I am still not sure where I will end up in Europe, but Europe, I am coming back.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Moving, Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Job hunt stepped up

  1. Gilraen says:

    trinewarming wrote on Dec 7, ’06
    Great news! Looking forward to seeing you here!
    I think it is great that you are taking your life up for consideration, it is true that it is tough, especially when you realize you have to make major changes to stay happy, but I also think it is very necessary to do it once in a while, otherwise you put down roots and forget to live!

    gilraensurion wrote on Dec 7, ’06
    I know very scary though 🙂
    Never thought it possible that I would be moving countries for the 6th time in my life NL-UK-NL-UK-NL-NZ-Europe

    tyellas wrote on Dec 8, ’06
    Our loss is Europe’s gain. But you know, I’ve always wanted to celebrate Christmas in Europe…

    toyotomi wrote on Dec 8, ’06
    @Tyellas: Europe’s christmas is not that great, unless you go up north to scandinavia to the snow. In the rest of europe it is just rainy and miserable. Then again, it’s a change to bbq-ing.
    @Gilraen: I sent you a linkedin invitation. You never know what you can find.

    gilraensurion wrote on Dec 8, ’06, edited on Dec 8, ’06
    Love Xmas in Europe In fact one of the things I miss the most. Xmas in the sun is really fun, once. It really makes that no matter what you try it doesn’t come to a real christmas What is missing is the darkness at the end of the day, the cold and the miserable weather. Though we have had one of two Xmases with not the best weather

Leave a Reply

