Kedeng

A few weeks ago I had a little incident with my car. When I pulled out of the parking lot somebody had parked their car in a somewhat awkward spot and when I put my car into forward it rolled back a little (bl**dy hills here) into the door of the beautiful car (refer to my entry on 30 October)

He promised to get a quote first to see if it would fit inside my excess. It didn’t. In fact it was 3x more than my excess. So we had to get the insurance involved.  Upswing is that it will now only cost me my excess (and 10 year no claim) so I have more disposable money.

Couldn’t help laughing on the phone with the insurance. I mean, of all the cars that I had to roll into at 5 km/h I had to pick a brand new European company can driven by a lawyer. And because this car is so new it has all these snazzy safety features So because it was the corner of my 1992 car that hit exactly one of those door safety beams I managed to slightly bend it making what looked like a $150 paint job into a $900 insurance claim. My car only had a little paint on it. To boot I had to go into the cafe to find him instead of driving away. Something 90% of people would have done. Oh well it will have helped my Karma I think.

The insurance lady said I had a great sense of humour about it. I said well apart form the fact that he’d parked in a stupid but legal place he didn’t do anything wrong. It is just one of those things. You deal with it and laugh about it an you are just grateful for the fact that you are a real Dutchie that thinks driving a car without insurance is the stupidest thing you can do. Always knew it would come in handy and today it did.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kedeng

  1. Gilraen says:

    netheandersen wrote on Dec 12, ’06
    You did the right thing. It´s as you say, only 10% would do the right thing, and good for you, that you´re one of them. I think this will come back to you in a good way one day. 🙂

    trinewarming wrote on Dec 14, ’06
    I’m not sure it’s even 10 percent!
    But I know that you would have had a guilty conscience chasing you around if you hadn’t done it.
    And thank God for insurance!

Leave a Reply

