I have a good boss

Today we had a meeting at work regarding a review in food service. So we happily thought this is going to be easy they are going to tell us what has been deleted and what new products we need to develop in the new year.

Well they did. Kinda. New packaging for the majority of the range and 14 new product lines with 11 new recipes. Oh and launch was to be end of March costings needed to be locked in by 1 Feb 07; 6 weeks from now! Given that development on the recipes had not yet started this is pushing managing Product Development to new heights. When we started dissing out the work with most of it for me it got a little scary. Then we started talking on who would be away in January and when.

We said ok let’s do this. One of the sales ladies said we could not do this without you steering it, which is a great compliment, I told her that this was a little bit much at some idiotic time frames. Them we went for lunch. During lunch it became clear that the timing was just all off. My mind went into overdrive and the people I went to lunch with saw this and I was sitting there saying: I can do this but I am so dependent on my boss getting them recipes out on short notice etc. In the end I said this is just not possible. Not with my current workload and I just don’t see how our suppliers are going to do this at this time of the year.

One of them picked up on this and called my boss. After my boss came back from a meeting I asked to speak to him and said “This new project is just stressing me out. This cannot be done under such time pressure.” He looked at me and basically said; ” I heard this time line was stressing you and I agree this is not the right time in the middle of the christmas rush and just before the holiday season for such a huge undertaking. I am telling sales to back off and give us an extra month.”
I was ready to give him a hug!. He did do that and due to time lines it means we now have two months extra. Now it is going to be easy. Still hard work and we still have to start immediately but at least the huge pressure is off.

It also meant I realised I needed some time off So I have decided to take the week after New Year off. Just three days as Monday Tuesday are stat days but it does mean a week off in total. I think I deserve that.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Holiday, Work and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I have a good boss

  1. Gilraen says:

    trinewarming wrote on Dec 14, ’06
    You totally do!
    And how great that your boss is sensitive to that kind of argumentation! Usually you have to threaten them with some potential monetary disaster to get their attention! Yay for the good boss!

    toyotomi wrote on Dec 15, ’06
    Wish I had a boss like that. Here they set deadlines and then swamp you with other work, expecting to still make the deadline. After three years I’m not even trying anymore…

    But a holiday those days is really a good plan 😉 Have fun!

Leave a Reply

