House maintenance and how not to do it

My upstairs neighbour moved house about two weeks ago.
Good for him He bought a house! Unfortunately he and his girlfriend decided to move everything themselves. So it was noisy for a week or so but you take that in your stride.
He is a nice guy and very apologetic about it all. Besides it usually stopped at 7ish.

After about a week of nothing happening the maintenance people moved in. They were there for a week every day until about 7 or 8pm Annoying but livable.
This weekend they were there the whole weekend Which was not conducive for major rests but you know it is required. However last night (from Sunday to Monday they decided to finish the job, whatever it took. Well it took my night rest!
I went to bed reasonably early. Weather had been humid and with all the work lately I have been a little tired. So I was in bed by 10pm. At 11 I was woken up by noise from upstairs. I looked out of the window and saw that the maintenance people were still there. I could not believe it.
I went back to sleep and fell into dreamland. at 12.45am I was woken up from a deep sleep by somebody dropping something on the floor. When I saw the time I was livid. The only thing stopping me from storming outside and giving this idiot a good piece of my mind was my attire, but I did send an email to my property manager immediately.
Of course I then had major trouble getting back to sleep. In fact I know I saw the clock turning 3.30.

End result as expected was that I was exhausted at work. I called my property manager and she was aghast that this had happened. The maintenance man had had clear instructions to work only standard hours as it is a unit complex. Did not give me my rest back though. And coffee was not enough to keep me going
By 3pm I was not making sense anymore. Was trying to write up a protocol and it really was complete gibberish! I could still recognise that. So I went home and to bed. Slept for 2 hours and feel much better now. Made myself some soul-food (pancakes).

The work seems to have finished. The maintenance guy was not here when I came home at 3.15. So tonight I am going to take it easy, have a nice hot bath and sleep. And I hope that I never ever have to encounter that maintenance guy again. Not sure if then my attire would be enough to stop me again.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Home life, Work and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to House maintenance and how not to do it

  1. Gilraen says:

    toyotomi wrote on Dec 20, ’06
    At least you have a bath to relax in. Use it, and when the water gets cold you’ll wake again 🙂

    My bath still isn’t in the bathroom. Neither are the tiles. Can we have those maintenance ppl visit my place sometime?

Leave a Reply

