Clearing out

I have decided on a moving company. I can take 1m3 with me in the quote. The company will provide the packing material and it is a door to door delivery. No worries there then I will insist on packing everything myself as it will be pick and choose as I go. There are things that will not be negotiable. Others will depend on the space I have. I will know once I have the boxes
I am doing most of the hard work now when I have the get up and go so that in 4 weeks time I can move out of this unit and relax.

It also means that everything is becoming more and more real. I have no doubt about my decision but it doesn’t mean that the next step is easy. I will leave with little more than I came. I have been sorting out some more stuff in my house Throwing away things I do not want to take to Europe. Still it is hard to go through all these things that were important to me at a different part in life. It is in fact harder than I had thought it to be. Much harder.

Just as well that it is a long weekend So I can take my time. Having said that after last night feeling pretty stuffed and emotional I had a good night sleep and I am going to take a break today. Sure there are some things I need to do as they are still floating around the rooms but after that I am going to take things slow and sew, maybe go to the beach late afternoon for a bit. Look after number one a little. Me that is

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Moving and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Clearing out

  1. Gilraen says:

    netheandersen wrote on Jan 28, ’07
    I can imagine all the thoughts and feelings welling up when sorting through your things in such a ruthless way. –But it has to be ruthless, there’s no alternative. The one time I had to do a similar move, it was a cleansing process. So very good to come out at the other end, but the “going through” was hard. So, just know that others around the world know what you are dealing with, and wish you all the best in the tough choices you will have to make. What to keep, what to forget… It’s the same with the memories for the relationship it self, I think. Some bad memories just never really get out of your system, so be sure to keep all the good ones to drown the bad out!
    Keep on keeping on!

    gilraensurion wrote on Jan 28, ’07
    I know, but I have to say that I left a lot of that behind already, when I left the house. These are my own memories I am going through. The things that are totally mine I guess. Which makes it harder as well.
    Yes I have to be ruthless and I am. Only those things I really care about are coming with me. But it is strange when you look at some sheets and think, they were the first sheets I bought in NZ and all of a sudden that has some level of significance.
    Nothing a good cry does not solve 🙂

    netheandersen wrote on Jan 28, ’07
    I agree. Crying is good for something.

    toyotomi wrote on Jan 29, ’07
    It may seem you’ll not be leaving with more than you came, but most of it won’t have to travel in boxes: memories, both good and bad, and age. And you’ll return to a lot of friends you left behind when you traveled to NZ. I mean friendship travels, but friends rarely do.

    gilraensurion wrote on Jan 30, ’07
    You being an exception Having been here twice 🙂

    toyotomi wrote on Jan 31, ’07
    Yeah, and you were here a year ago and at my wedding. But what’s a couple of days in 10 years?

Leave a Reply

