Holly part 2

Holly and I are moving into a more convenient space now.
We are getting accustomed to each other and with her taking a course in Dutch (since Friday) she and I are now really on speaking terms.
Holly was also quite good during the weekend. She managed to lead us through all pitfalls in Rotterdam and we arrived safely at all destinations we had selected. Not always the way Holly had intended, but this was more the driver than Holly. Note I was not driving that day.

Mind you this was the Dutch annual weirdest weekend. See we have ascension day on Thursday which is a day off. The Friday is a normal working day, but a lot of people take the day off to have a long weekend. Not me of course. So at my normal time I set off to work This is 7 am. Where normally the motorway is reasonably full it wasn’t that morning. I double checked the time to make sure I was not an hour early. Of course I was not. As the roads were so empty I made good time to work and then Holly decided to tell me to go a different way from how I usually go. At this stage she is still speaking German. Let’s just say; Some misinterpretation on both sides happened and before I knew it I was back where I had started. Okay so this ain’t working but how am I going to get back to my normal route? The answer by being pedantic and following the road signs and ignoring Holly. This cost me some extra time so it still took me 35 minutes. Usually it takes me between 40 and 45. Not bad.
Way back was just as cruisy. 35 minutes flat.

Coming to the conclusion that Holly can be both a blessing a a curse and that sometimes you just have to ignore her advice. She can handle it.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Stuff, Work and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

