Stuff and nonsense

Could it be true? Is my stuff from NZ finally arriving? Four and a half months after I parted with my most beloved possessions I may finally receive them back. I did say they can take the slow boat to China, but I did not realise that they would take me at my word. Granted, my stuff has been in Hamburg since May and the delay has been mainly due to the lack of trucks going to the Netherlands. Still as far as I am concerned it could have been in China.

Last Thursday I received the message from the moving company this Monday (as in tomorrow) they are sending my stuff over. I was asked to provide a sketch of the surroundings to which I complied. I looked up our street on Google maps and made a tiny URL with it and sent it back
Satellite pictures courtesy of google. Honestly it was the best situation sketch I could possibly have provided short of filming it and sending that as a file. Ok a bit geeky, but better than any sketch I could have drawn up myself.

As we all know streets in the Netherlands are not wide, this is not NZ. Space is at a premium here. Our street is reasonable by Dutch standards Two cars can pass and there is sufficient parking space on both sides. But yes in between every two parking spaces there is a tree, which gives the street a nice appeal.

I provided all the required information and get an email back. Please provide parking space for us. What do they expect me to do? Chop down a tree? I mean if you are taking a 18m long truck (I have 8 boxes, less than 1 cubic m) to a residential area in the Netherlands please expect parking problems. So i told them that. It is a public road period. I cannot do more than I have done.

Anyway I hope all goes well Should not take more than 10 minutes to unload. I have taken the day off so I can take things easy. Seeing my stuff again is going to be wonderful, Unpacking like Sinterklaas, but I’ll only believe it when I see it

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Home life, Moving, Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stuff and nonsense

  1. Gilraen says:

    ingemaresmam wrote on Jul 9, ’07
    Feel like singing a song … oeps Starting to sing a Song:
    The melody Zie ginds komt de stoomboot uit Spanje weer aan (the steamboat from spain is coming again)…

    Look there what’s coming, my stuff over sea
    the truck may park here I hope iso ndea(d)
    my lovely possessions, they will bring to me
    All of my stuff you’re welcome to see…

    I still don’t believe it, I will hope it’s true
    If not I may wait more and I will feel blue,
    but hope gives me reason to smile even more…
    And I will be waiting close to my door.

    Good luck with unpack day!

Leave a Reply

