Back into the swim of things

I think I am starting to get the extra curricular parts of my life back on track as well.

Yoga is pretty much staple now and I have been swimming two weeks in a row. Only 750m but still I am back in the pool. Main problem with the swimming is the people. If you are used to a near private swimming pool where eight people over 4 lanes is considered to be busy, 100 people in 4 lanes is crowded to say the least.

I have found that I am faster jogging and with a kickboard than about 50% of the people that do lanes. Honestly they float from one end to the other, I cannot call that swimming.

I am also reviewing more options to exercise as I want to move that butt around again.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Sports and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back into the swim of things

  1. Gilraen says:

    netheandersen
    delete reply
    netheandersen wrote on Jul 19, ’07
    I can totally picture your pool! I know the feel of being in the “hippo” lane and about to explode from frustration! That’s the problem with the swimming pool in my town, too. It´s packed with “floaters”, or else it’s us in the few “fast” lanes (-and really, I´m not THAT fast a swimmer) being bombarded with kids jumping off the closed spring boards.
    -Since Tromsø is so cold and dark for so much of the year, you’d think in-door activities for the people -like swimming- would be prioritised by the communal board, but I obviously have to think again…

    Well, good for you that you get in the pool! And all the best to you in your pursuit of additional exercise options! – hi, what about taking up riding again?

    toyotomi wrote on Jul 20, ’07
    You were just spoiled in NZ 🙂

    Although 25 to a lane is busy: it’s a holiday and hot (some days at least), people want to swim.

    gilraensurion wrote on Jul 21, ’07
    Sure I was spoiled in NZ but that was not a public pool either like this one is. In NZ it was part of my Gym, hence members only
    The public pools are just as busy there 🙂

    draakje wrote on Jul 22, ’07
    To my experience swimming in lunchtime or dinner time (between 5 and 6) are ok. In the evening it can be horrible. People explaining all illnesses of their grandma when floating to the other side and you trying to pass. I enjoyed swimming in lunchtime during my PhD. It really helped to focus in the afternoon again. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

