How Bizzare!

Things In life are weird. Sometimes you cannot believe in coincidence, sometimes things just are too bizarre Like the story I am going to tell you now.

We’d invited an Italian colleague/friend of my SO this weekend and prepared everything as good hosts do. His gf was going to come over as well. From what I had heard she was a really nice woman. They arrived sharp on time. As she walked in the door I could not help thinking I know this woman. She also looked kinda quizzical. But as I had only arrived back a few months ago I discarded that thought for 5 minutes. I then noticed a piece of greenstone around her neck. I asked her, had she been to NZ?. She said yes. I asked her if she knew a friend of mine. All of a sudden our pennies dropped.
We knew each other. In fact she had stayed with me in NZ in 1998! Our men were surprised amused and had to hear the whole story.

I moved to NZ at the end of 1996. This is a well known fact. Over the years 1998-1999 I had a large number of visitors. Some I had known for years others came as friends of friends or with friends/relatives of mine.

One such occasion was a member of my debating club, who went to NZ for a graduation project. I knew him a little as he became a member around the time I left Wageningen. His project was in Dunedin a long way from where I lived, but we called each other a few times and emailed reasonably frequently.
This friend was not alone there it was joint project with a friend of his. After they finished their project they were going to travel NZ northbound. So of course I offered my place as a crash spot as you do as an ex-pat.
At the end of 1998 they arrived. He the tall friendly person I remembered, she a tall willowy blonde with glasses. They stayed a few night before going north. On their way back they stopped by again and I helped them sell their car.

Over the years I did not keep in much contact with the friend. I knew about things in his life through mutual friends and saw him a few times when in debating club environments. Last time was at toyotomi’s graduation party.
This woman I had lost contact with completely and never gave it much thought anymore. She’d gone back to uni had spent some time overseas and had met this Italian man fell for him. He just happened to work with my SO and they are reasonably friendly. And into my life she walks again Still a willowy tall blonde.

How much coincidence exists? This is too weird. We had a pleasant evening, but a little bit stunned.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Friends, Home life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How Bizzare!

  1. Gilraen says:

    netheandersen wrote on Aug 5, ’07
    Great story! The world really IS small, I see proof every day.
    The “six-hand-shakes-away-from-the-president” theory is genuine, I believe.

Leave a Reply

