Red Roses

My birthday was wonderful. Rating very high in the best birthday ever stakes.

I started in the morning. Waking up and just dozing No alarm Lovely. Then there was breakfast in bed.Made by my SO Two wonderful croissants with butter, egg, coffee, orange juice lined with a beautiful long stemmed red rose for my 39th birthday. He then left the room and came back with a bunch of more long stemmed red roses. 38 in that additional bunch, one for every year he had missed. I very nearly started to cry.

Then SO told me of the trouble these roses had been.
He’d ordered them on Saturday at a florist which was very close to where I was doing the general shopping So he’d been hoping I would not see him (I didn’t)
He’d asked them until what time he could pick them up. 6pm they told him. Then when he went to pick them up on Tuesday evening he noticed they were closed at 5.45pm when driving past. He went into overdrive His big surprise! The when he arrived at the shop There was a sign at the door;

“Dear Sir, We had to close early, but your flowers are at the opticians”.

Ok, looking good, he picked them up there. Then he went home and parked his car next to the rubbish wheelie bins as he always picks ours up on Tuesday His plan was to take the bin around the back as per usual and take the roses into the shed where a prepared bucket was awaiting them to be left overnight………..Except of course that for some unknown reason I for once decided I would walk outside pick up the wheelie bin before he came home Honestly I do not know what possessed me. But it sort of did create a teeny wee problem for my man.
SO of course found a way around this obstacle by truthfully stating before closing for the night he’d forgotten something in his car. This of course being the roses.
He took them inside knowing that I had safely gone to bed and there they camped overnight in a vase (which now is broken, different story).

Poor man. I am a hard woman to keep up with. The roses are lovely and they look stunning as you all can see.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Home life, Pampering and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Red Roses

  1. Gilraen says:

    draakje wrote on Sep 7, ’07
    He really loves you! I hope the rest of the year will be as good for you!

Leave a Reply

