Panic!

Been a weird few days. SO has been great supportive and everything else I can think of on a positive way. Not so my computer!

My laptop has been giving me some grief in that it is slow. I always put it down to plain old Windows. I mean we all know the troubles we have with it. I also assumed that the incorporation of mcaffee did not help the speed of my computer.
Well then there was the latest windows update.
After that I had to reboot a few times and it started to have this really thick syrupy kind of speed. Not good. So I decided that maybe the weekend would be a good time to make a back up and maybe to de-fragment or something.

Well my computer had a completely different idea. It came to a complete halt. It did not crash No it slowly faded into complete oblivion. Nothing I did was good enough anymore. This was Thursday The evening after a long hard audit by the authorities and I was completely knackered and well, I broke down. All my files, my history, etc etc Sure I had a back up from a few months ago and all my pictures and music are external already but all the new work (including some papers for study) would be gone. I was guttered.

My SO saw that and after comforting me was like “look I am the computer whizz I’ll take care of this.” and started playing with it. His own laptop next to it he was busily diagnosing the problem. It looked like the Microsoft patch, but after the operation to repair the damage the patient remained in an unstable condition
The Friday afternoon SO was off work and further operations followed, and it looked like the patient was coming around, just to collapse into a coma again in the evening. From that point forward even safe-mode was difficult and after some discussions SO came up with a Ubuntu CD, which he used to re-start my computer.
With Ubuntu in the CD driver I managed to salvage my remaining files onto my external harddrive.

Then it was time for the real operation. My poor poor computer would need a transplantation of one of its essential organs. A new hard drive. I decided to get a larger one immediately (from 40 to 120GB) and after some discussion with SO switched to Ubuntu as operating system No more Windows for me.

So easy finding a new hard drive – Well no as it is a special type but it was found and installed and as you can see it works.
As you can imagine I will need to rebuild a lot of things and get used to this new fantastic environment( I can recommend it to all)
Isn’t my SO absolutely fantastic He spent two days on this, just to make me happy

Oh yes one more week of audits and stress then I am going to enjoy the last month of the year and it’s celebrations starting with that typically dutch tradition of Sinterklaas

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

