Christmas tree

Well we’ve put up the tree. As SO had not christmas decorations we went all out. So much fun buying everything new.
Of course I wanted a real tree For ten years I had to make due with fake ones Now I wanted a real one. We settled on a Nordman tree and a Silver, Black and Purple theme.
We found some really nice silver fake fern leaves So I have 6 Silver Ferns in my tree.

With that I needed to build some accessories. We have this huge glass vase which is beautiful and really kinda a pain to use for anything. So we went for the latest Christmas craze here. Birch twigs with little lights on them Black ones. With them some glittery purple birch twigs Basically covered with that glitter stuff that goes everywhere and a large plume black On the bottom of the vase I layered silver small foam pearls and some tree balls. It looks wonderful when the lights are connected.

Then there was the gamble. I have three small rose vases that stand in a circle and I decided I wanted an arrangement in there. So I bought two small bouquets  of purple and one of silver white balls with some green, which are made to be used in  Christmas rings With it I bought two black feather plumes and one purple Matching the purple with the silver white and the black feather with the purple balls
So that stank! Colour combination, with  the vases was waaaaaaaaaaaaay off. I had not been excessively confident about it but this was not good.

So what I did was in the end use some tinsel that was left over It was just too bulky for the tree with the really small lights we bought. I packed it all into a silver coloured vase which was too large and let the tinsel spill over The put the balls and the plumes in, et voila! A piece of artistic saving had been achieved.

Our first christmas together. And it is looking wonderfully magically as a christmas should. Warm inviting and with a tree smelling of christmas.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Feelings, Home life, shopping and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Christmas tree

  1. Gilraen says:

    netheandersen wrote on Dec 17, ’07
    Great! Christmas spirit oozing out of my screen right now. Merry Christmas to you and yours!

    tyellas wrote on Dec 20, ’07
    Ohhh…I should have sent you some of these very high-quality Christmas ornaments I’ve seen around this year. The tuis would have gone so well with your color scheme.

    toyotomi wrote on Dec 24, ’07
    Silver, black and purple. A goth themed christmas decoration. Yet christmas is supposedly cheerful. Mmm….

    gilraensurion wrote on Dec 24, ’07
    Very bright though with all the lights we put in the tree and decorations It really is quite cheerful 🙂

Leave a Reply

