Driving in a winter wonderland

It is as if winter is showing its best side for me It is cold to Dutch standards as it is freezing outside for most of the day. I have had to scrape the ice off my windscreen a few times. My poor Diesel engine only comes to life after some real deep rumblings in the morning But it is a crisp and fresh type of cold It isn’t wet Just cold and that makes that you look all rosy cheeked when you arrive home even when it is a short distance from the car to the house

Yesterday SO and I went to a Christmas concert in the church We’d booked months ago. The church is one of the eldest in town and parts hail from the middle ages.
It was a special evening with the three baritones, Ernst Daniel Smid, Henk Poort and Marco Bakker (Sorry some links in Dutch) Jan Vayne and Margaret Roest (Soprano)
It was cold that night. I was wearing two pairs of pantyhoses, and socks as well as two thin tops, a sweater and a thick woolly jumper and a coat.
We walked to the church which was a nice crisp walk waited in line Just to come to the conclusion that this even in the middle ages they knew how to lure people into the church.  The metal plate underneath our feet was heated. We sat there throughout the whole concert shoes off on that plate I mean it was so hot we had to take our feet off the plate occasionally.
The concert was really great All christmas songs and we really enjoyed it. Afterwards we had to walk home again Then it was cold, very cold but we felt really good when we arrived home Straight to bed as another early start was required for me.

Today I drove cross country to our site about 100km to the east. Granted getting there was dark but during the day I could look outside And as the plant is on the outskirts of the village you can see the countryside. It was slowly turning white. Not because it was snowing It was frost. The winter witch was touching everything and turning it into a wonderful white landscape.  As it has not been wet it is not that bad with road getting slippery. No water no ice, just intense beauty The little sun we have at present reflected on the white branches of the trees. Birds slip sliding over the ice looking for the little opening there. Everything looks desolate and alone No matter how many people there are. People are in their houses warm and comfortable with central heating (hey NZ really nice invention central heating!) snuggled up against with the christmas tree and hot chocolate.  Well that is most of the the people.

Of course some of the Dutch are going completely bonkers!!!!!! We have already had the first skating contests on the natural ice (this does not happen every year) There is already buzzing about an 11 city tour. For those that do not know As soon as there has been one night of frost we start getting hit by the 11 city fever. I’ll explain if and when it happens (about once every 7 to 25 years).

Anyway as my NZ friends know One of the reasons I wanted to return was because I missed seasons, specifically winter. It looks as if my motherland has heard and granted me my wishes

Now the next question, will we have a white christmas?

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Feelings, Stuff, Work and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Driving in a winter wonderland

  1. Pingback: Almost there | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

