Roses are red and so is toilet paper

This weekend SO and I took a nice trip to celebrate 1 year together.
It was a Christmas present from me to SO and he did not know where we would go. I had decided on a romantic luxury weekend in a hotel only just within the borders of our country. It is located in castle (well the hotel is in the stables but alas) and called Castle Vaalsbroek. We arrived late afternoon and were welcomed by wonderful staff and our room was very comfy. We had a shower and got changed as I had made reservations in a restaurant in Maastricht, called Au coins de bons enfants, which has a michelin star. As I had made the bookings prior to the 2008 guide coming out I was kinda relieved  to see they had retained it. The building is wonderfully old and was part of the old orphanage. It has a very good romantic atmosphere. The service is very correct without being snobbish. I had such a wonderful meal with mini lobster and fried sweetbread (this is the calf thymus – hence brains) for starters. Honestly i was a bit apprehensive about the sweetbread but I figured if anybody can make this delicacy work it should be chef of this standing I was not disappointed. My main was partridge and truffle (how decadent) and for dessert I had Chocolate Croquants (thin biscuits) chocolate sorbet en orange compote. It was all wonderful the dessert however was simply divine. All in all a perfect in evening in a perfect restaurant Just one minor adjustment would have made it even more perfect. I can hear people thinking what would this adjustment be? Well truth be told, the toilet paper. I am not sure how you all think about this but red? In a restaurant of this level? I am not kidding the toilet paper was red. A bit of a taste letdown in such a tasteful restaurant.

The next day we had a very early breakfast About the same time when I arrived last year at the airport. With it there was a red rose for my SO A little token for our year. After breakfast we were in the mood for a walk and we went to the point of three countries. At this point the Netherlands, Germany and Belgium come together in one point. Conveniently the highest point in the Netherlands is located close to this point. In fact it is about 5m from the point. So that is in true Dutch fashion two for the price of one . From there we walked through the woods back to the hotel. All in all it was about 2 and a half hours walking up and down but surrounds were wonderful and the weather gorgeous.  It is one of the very few places in the country where we have rolling hills and not just flats. Afterwards we relaxed in the pool and I had a massage. That evening we had dinner in the hotel Which was also very very good.
Today we drove back home. Back now relaxing after a wonderful weekend. Just the two of us.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Feelings, Holiday, Home life, Stuff and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Roses are red and so is toilet paper

  1. Gilraen says:

    netheandersen
    delete reply
    netheandersen wrote on Jan 1, ’08
    No wonder you were so closed mouthed about in your calendar! This was a splendid New Year´s celebration. Thanks for sharing! And Happy New Years!

    toyotomi wrote on Jan 4, ’08
    Sounds like you had a great time. I’m glad, you deserved it!

    Happy new year!

  2. Pingback: Back to where it began (sorta) | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

