Burn baby burn

So last night I was angry, and I mean really, really angry. It was work related, of course.  Suffice to say that people in sales positions are presently not in my good books. In fact they are not even close to getting near my good books. In fact………you get the picture.

So yesterday I was so mad at them (Believe me, I had every reason to be) that I forgot I had the frying pan on the stove. With butter in it. With the gas-flame high.
All of a sudden I hear beep-beep-beep-beep-beep-beep-beep-beep-beep-beep-beep-beep-beep-beep-beep-beep. That is a beep-beep-beep as you only hear when there is a fire alarm going. Fire alarm going?  Yes you read this correctly, a fire alarm.
I rushed into the smoke filled kitchen. Only to find my frying pan being completely ablaze.
Think significant curse words being uttered and you might get close to what was being heard around the house at that point in time.
At least I did not panic (not a lot anyway) I turned off the heat and grabbed the other frying pan and used it as a cover to kill the flames. It worked and I felt somewhat stupid, when I took off the covering frying pan and smoke filled the house.
Of course this was the exact moment SO chose to return home from work. So he immediately opened the back door and left the front door open to get the smoke out. Never mind we were having a wind force 9 gale blowing that night. Smoke did clear pretty quickly with that wind I’ll give you that.

Oh well, nothing got damaged except my pride.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Home life, Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Burn baby burn

  1. Gilraen says:

    netheandersen wrote on Feb 1, ’08
    Uhhhh! That could have ended in tears! Great reaction with the second frying pan!

Leave a Reply

