Counting down

Today SO left on a business trip taking 8 days. He is away often so that is not the biggie. However it is the first time he is away over the weekend since we’ve been together. I have some nice things planned this weekend, no need to feel sorry for me.
I have a friend visiting on Saturday and on Sunday I am going away to see a friend and her family. *waves*

All things nice. Still I miss that man of mine. Looking around the house that was once his, now our home. Little changes that make that it is ours. Sometimes I still think back and remember the first time I entered the house with him. Really the basics are still the same but now it breathes a different breath. Contentment, a life together and somehow you can taste the difference when entering the house. It is no longer a bachelor’s pad, it is a loving home.

Tonight, I walked upstairs to get some things from the bedroom, and I found two little stuffed animals on my pillow. As the note said; little friends to watch over me in SO’s absence. It made me cry as it was such a loving gesture. I used to think that little surprises and presents were no big deal, but SO taught me differently. The form of the gift is not all that important it is the message behind it. A message of love and caring, a message of I will miss you too.

8 more nights to go. Counting down until his little friends can go to sleep Then my love is back. I can’t wait.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Family, Feelings, Home life, Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Counting down

  1. Gilraen says:

    netheandersen wrote on Mar 6, ’08
    That is so sweet!

    gilraensurion wrote on Mar 7, ’08
    And then when I got to bed there was another 8 in the bed. A whole zoo to keep me company 🙂

    draakje wrote on Mar 8, ’08
    That is really nice! “Het zijn de kleine dingen die het doen”. You have had 2 night already. Enjoy the weekend!

Leave a Reply

