Times, they are a changing

Unfortunately the job did not work out. Still not convinced on what happened. I had a good feeling about the interview, though I did find it odd that when looking for a person with a strategic and long term view that they start asking about everything since graduation. As I told the recruitment agency I found that strange. According them I was not strategic enough in my thinking etc. Just about everybody that knows goes like huh? Oh well over and done now.

Anyway that is past tense now and though I was very upset as I really wanted the job I am past that. However I am not going to continue my job. The stress is high, the job is being downgraded and to boot one of the advisers (previous director) found it necessary to try to humiliate me in public including screaming. I did stay calm but afterwards I was a mess. Management by intimidation. Not my style to work with. So at the end of my contract I am going to leave. No money suffices to have to put up with that.
I’ll be fine, SO is extremely supportive and something new will come along again, I am convinced of that. Maybe this is an opportunity for something new and different.

In the mean time we are concentrating today on one thing only SO is running his half marathon today!

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Feelings, Sports, Work and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Times, they are a changing

  1. Gilraen says:

    netheandersen wrote on Mar 16, ’08
    I am so pleased to hear that you are taking care of your self! I think it is a wise dissision to get out as soon as you can, never mind that there is no new job lined up right afterwards! You might need a little timeand distance from such a stressfull and humiliating work environment before you are able to let your self shine through again in a job interview. I think you are handeling it all extremely well, but it still might take a little while for it all to get out of your system, if you know what I mean?

    Good luck and speed to your SO in his half marathon, and the same to you in the last weeks in your unpleasant job!

    trinewarming wrote on Mar 19, ’08
    Hi G, So sorry to hear about the job – what the f*** do they mean, “not strategic enough”?!? Sheesh!
    I join Nethe in applauding your decision to get out of your current job – as you advised me back in NZ, no job is worth the grief.
    If you end up being unemployed for a while, maybe you could come for a visit? :o)

    gilraensurion wrote on Mar 21, ’08
    Yep listening to my own advice here. And glad I did, sleeping much more soundly now. As for the visit.possibly Let’s just finish the last few weeks
    PS Half marathon was finished in a new personal best, but afterwards he was totally knackered- good chance for me to spoil him rotten for a bit as he has been a rock through it all

Leave a Reply

