Stoffenbeurs

Twice a year a stoffenbeurs (or fabric market) is held here in town. Initially the day was not looking too good. It was raining and things were somewhat miserable. I was not feeling crash hot. Still a left over of the flu and also the stress from my nearly over job (three more days to go and then I am out of that hole). But as it dried up a little I decided to go anyway and it turned out to be a good thing.

As a good Dutchie I took the bike into town. I got myself some money. The cash is as you usually cannot pay electronically at these markets, and also as protection: this is all you can spend.
When I arrived I took a tiki tour around the place and had a look around, iIt was good A lot of fabric and a variety of qualities and prices. Mind you the most expensive fabric I saw was about 20 euro/m, which is about NZ$40/m and that was pretty decent stuff. I managed to not buy the silk dupioni (10euro/m) and what surprised me was that the good cottons are almost as expensive as the cheapest silks. Weird or what?

After having had a good look around I decided to start purchasing some bits and pieces. And after my rucksack was full I went home. SO thought it was hilarious. He says I look so happy when I haul in these new treasures. And yes I do feel happy with it. After Wednesday I have a few weeks off and I am going to sew. I need a bit of a break. After that I am going to talk to some people and who knows what will happen? Nothing is certain yet, except that I am happy with the choice I have made and happy with my fabric and happy with my wonderful SO that is my rock and anchor.
Life is still good

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Sewing, shopping and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stoffenbeurs

  1. Gilraen says:

    trinewarming wrote on Apr 9, ’08
    So, are you done with the old job now? Enjoy sewing, you sure have enough fabric to keep you occupied for a while. :o)
    Have fun!

Leave a Reply

