Retain therapy or do I need therapy?

Not that I really need retail therapy. Therapy maybe you may think after reading this blog entry, but not retail therapy. We decided to go shoe shopping. So needed some comfy house slippers and I needed brown shoes, with my need being a bit of a exaggeration of course.
See, a few weeks back I bought a dress with brown and purple. Really I just liked it on the hanger, and wanted to see if the model suited me. I was convinced it would look terrible. To my complete and utter amazement it did not only fit, it actually looked very nice on me. So what is a girl supposed to do? Buy it, or leave it? Buy it of course, and take it home, only then to find out that she does not have shoes to go with it.
It was such a Carrie Bradshaw (Sex in the City) moment that I seriously started to doubt my sanity.
But never mind, shoe shopping is fun. I had a look around dark brown shoes but nothing really took my fancy and then I saw these. So they were bronze instead of brown, but I loved them I slipped them on and I knew they were for me. Heel is actually not high so I can even use them for work (office girl now after all). There was another pair I really liked, but to be honest, they looked better off my foot than on my foot and were rather uncomfortable. At home I had a look at the combination with the dress and the match is perfect as the fabric has a metallic shine and the bronze is an accent colour in the dress.
When walking through the store, looking for some slippers for SO, my eye was caught and I melted. There she was again, the Carrie Bradshaw, or Rebecca Brandon, in me. For those that do not know Rebecca Brandon, read the Shopaholics series by Sophie Kinsella, it is hilarious and they are making a movie out of the books.
Anyway I stopped dead in my tracks and just knew that if they fitted, they were going to go home with me. What can I say? This picture was taken at home. They fitted, they are as comfy as you can get with heels like that, and they are just so cheerful and bright. So totally my colours in there.

So here I am looking at my new purchases wondering if I am in need of therapy due to this new found love of shoes. Neh, I kinda like this development. I think I am going to stick to it.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in shopping and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

