Oh man I am stuffed

This weekend SO and I have lived together officially for a year. Reality is (SO’s words) I never really left the house since 30 December 2006 except to sort out stuff in NZ come back to the Netherlands. I guess this is true as officially I moved in with my parents until I had found a job. But ultimately I think I spend a grand total of 5 nights there.

So to celebrate we decided to be decadent. Very decadent. We went out for dinner here. It was fantastic! This restaurant was part of the big michellin star heist. The cook was sous chef in Parkheuvel a three star restaurant. The chef of Parkheuvel retired and the chef of two star restaurant Zwethheul was asked to take over. He smelled a chance for a third star. The sous-chef at Parkheuvel was not too happy and joined de Zwethheul as head chef. The next year Parkheuvel lost 2 of it’s stars and became a single star restaurant (ouch!) and Zwethheul retained both stars!
It was a real coup.

Anyway we were there around 7pm. We had a great meal with lobster (pre-opened for us), raw tuna, crab, plaice, eel, chicken, etc. 6 courses in total and then we added the cheese platter as well. We went home well after midnight and rolled into bed. Not even a party across the road could keep us from falling asleep. Mind you it was 80’s music so at least it was not too annoying.
Not something we should be doing every week but certainly something we like doing.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Food, Home life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oh man I am stuffed

  1. Pingback: Celebrate good times | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

