So the fat lady sang

This last week has been rather stressful. Apart from having lots of meetings and really a little too much on my plate there has been some reeling news.

My previous employer, the meat people, have gone bust. Of course I do not know the ins and outs of the story, but lets just say my drumming system is still working well.
On Tuesday I received a call from a co-worker. She worked in the most southern factory as a receptionist and call centre sales person. That factory has a very small office hence I sat there with them and got along with them famously. They knew a lot of what was going on. The phone people and the engineers need to be your friends. They know soooooo much more than they should.

Anyway she left not long after me. She called Tuesday on my mobile at work. They have gone bust do know many details but apparently no production at all. So I called some other people and it was true but by Tuesday production had resumed at low levels. The news now is that 40-60% of the people are fired. The company has been taken over. One of the factories will close and a lot of the people that I like have lost their positions. That is very unsettling.
They have no QA department at all anymore. My position is still advertised, the junior QA is out, the senior has found herself another job and declined to return to the new company. If it were not so sad for so many it would be totally funny.

It is not a surprise. I knew this was coming. I had predicted they would not last until Christmas unless they would have a insanely good summer. And they did not. How could they? It has not been a BBQ feast here this year.
As said the rumours are rife. Some will be true, as I know the background a little more. Some are just venting from people. Some I don’t know.
All I can think is I got out on time. I am lucky. I am so glad I jumped when I did. Yet knowing I was right in this is only small comfort.
The majority of the people that work there do not deserve this. The ones that did contribute to this? No to deserve, they do not, but I hope I that they can live with what they did. Maybe they just did not know any better. One thing I have learned; Good management and clear communications are rare.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Work and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

