OK so that went well.

I admit, I was freaking over nothing. Nothing embarrassing happened. Just a very good dinner.
At 7 I was whisked away by Ty in a taxi. It rushed us into town.
Upon arrival there we were ushered to a table which was set for 7 people.
Where on earth would you find 5 more people?

First to arrive were my cousins. They had spent Christmas in the Netherlands and are staying a week longer for my wedding. The elder has lived in Spain and currently resides in Costa Rica. The younger now lives with her family in Vietnam, after earlier stints in Costa Rica and Chili. The elder and the youngest husband work for a Dutch company, hence still get to travel to the Netherlands at least annually. Yep I do have an internationally orientated family.
Next to arrive was Toyotomi. He was the only male in attendance, but reality is he is one of the people I would have missed if he had not attended.
Given that Ingemaresmam was there as well the two of them were happy swapping again stories from when all three of us were students. Seeing them both makes me realise what a great time I had being a student.
Last but not least was my SIL.
So al in al there were seven people. A good variety representing my life. Of course my cousins have known me since they were born (I am the eldest, hence there was a time, when I did not know them). Born to a mother from the same mold as mine, they know what it was like growing up for me.
Two people that I have known since my student days. Both members of my debating club and with whom I shared many a night in the tea attic and at all night meetings. Not to mention some really fiery food. Just the brought back memory makes my ears steam again.
Then attending was Ty representing my NZ time. Somebody that has seen me go through a lot in the last 10 years. She has known me for most of the years I was there. Representing my current life is SIL. By organising this for me is showing me that we too have forged a bond, which is is beyond the fact that we both love one of the brothers. Mind you both of us are in total agreement that we each have the best one of the brothers .

It was good and the meal was great. I really liked it and it suited me. A bachelorette party that was within my limits. SIL has listened well to what I do and don’t like and picked a good variety of people.

SO had dinner with his brother on the other side of town. As most of his proposed guests were from abroad the intended guest were………well abroad, celebrating the seasons holidays with their families. In the end BIL decided that a good dinner between the two of them would have to do. Given that this is something they have never done before it gave them a great one on one time. Due to life this was something they had not had for years. SO later told me he loved it and that it was great to have had that time with his brother and could not have wished a better bachelors party.

Makes me happy that I both come from a close knit family and will be marrying into a family that is also close knit. Sure we have our differences of opinion and sure on occasion we are well past liking each other, but we also know we can count on each other and that is the main thing.
I am also very happy that friends came from quite a distance to be there with me and will be there again on my wedding day. To them I owe a big thanks. It meant a lot.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Wedding and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to OK so that went well.

  1. Gilraen says:

    tyellas wrote on Jan 6, ’09
    It was a really nice evening, and I learned a lot more about you!

Leave a Reply

