The Wedding; the ceremony

Shortly after we left and had a drive around town to get to the town hall after all our guests had arrived. As the city hall is in the middle of the old city square any wedding gets a lot of attention. As we started to climb the stairs the carillon in the church opposite the city hall started playing.
At the city hall we already saw some friends and family. We were ushered to a side room as we were to enter last. Once all were seated we entered. According to people there we positively beamed! We were seated by our city hall helper. Our celebrant entered after us and started talking standing behind our chairs. I was at the same time the most nervous and the most calm I had ever been. So many people had come. Family, friends, colleagues etc. All in all I think there were close to 70 people at the actual ceremony.
The celebrant had a nice story for us and made it quite funny. I was sitting there thinking. ‘move it on. I want to marry this guy now!” Finally our moment came and we were asked to rise and hold each others right hands. Then we were asked THE question. me first of course. I answered “yes”. Then SO and he answered; “yes, a thousand times yes” (My Darcy!). We were pronounced man an wife and we kissed. Well before the celebrant told us SO could kiss the bride. Then there was the exchange of rings. Of course nobody but SO, me and the jeweller had seen them yet.
Then the congratulations from those that would not attend the reception.

Once we left the city hall, again to the sound of the carillon, we were informed that there would be a surprise for us. Oh dear, don’t our loved ones know that we are not the ones for surprises? But it was a fun one. Our parents had organised 10 white doves, for us to release by hand. Next little issue how do you hold a dove in your hands when you also have your the skirt of your wedding dress to hold up? I was not about the wipe the streets with my dress! Aha one has a darling doting dad that stand behind you. You grab the hem of your skirt and push it into his hand. “Hold this” I said and he did. Doves were only too happy to be released by us and happily flew away.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Feelings, Wedding and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Wedding; the ceremony

  1. Gilraen says:

    netheandersen wrote on Jan 27, ’09
    Congratulations to you and your husband!! All the best wishes for your life together!

  2. Pingback: Another lovely wedding | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

