The Wedding; the reception

So many people So little time is what this was. As soon as we arrived people started to come over to congratulate us and giving us presents. People I had not seen for years, relatives I hardy knew, colleagues etc. And then the people on SO’s side that I either only knew by name or well by envelope addressing. So weird to see people from all our histories put together there,

So many people inviting us for dinner etc. So many people wanting to wish us all the good in our married life. It was very very touching and I became somewhat emotional at one stage.

Even my fraternity had arrived, though they had had to perform an archive search to find me back. I’d left so many years ago that the were kinda lost when the invitation arrived. But as tradition requires, out came the berets and the jenever. Then the voices were put into place and our fraternity song was bellowed out at great volume, and well out of tune. As it should be!

SO had threatened to leave the room when this would happen, but of course he did not. He even ensured that my Beret remained on my head with the tassel hanging obnoxiously in front of my left eye.

SO’s colleagues had prepared a slide show and quiz. This included a screen, computer and beamer. You sure know where the gadget people work don’t you?

It was fun, but we had very little time to talk wit our guests. I only managed about 10 minutes at the end with my friend and her parents whom had driven all the way from Belgium and had been at the ceremony as well. I was so glad to see them. About 7.15pm we were told to get out in a nice way.

Up to our room we went and our masters of ceremony ensured that all our presents were put in our room. We were nearly there and adrenaline was pumping. Dinner was next

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Feelings, Wedding and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Wedding; the reception

  1. Pingback: Trip down a changed memory lane. | Gilraensblog

  2. Pingback: Mr. Gaultier | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

