Ping!

I am working on the blog entry on the honeymoon, honestly I am.

But first I have to tell you what happened yesterday.
In our house we have a large cupboard under the stairs. It is our ‘ we need to tidy up the lounge so throw it in there’ cupboard. As you can imagine it is one area, that needs some re-arrangement on a regular basis. It is large, I can stand up in most parts of it, but it is also dark as it is fully enclosed.

About two or three months ago the light-bulb died. Nothing unusual except that we could not get the cap off to change the light bulb. It is a plastic click system and it got very very stuck. We decided to leave it for a bit. After all we did not need to be in there a lot. As time went by the non light issue became increasingly annoying to the both of us.
Last week was the limit for me. I was trying to find something in the evening (SO was away on business) and couldn’t. When SO arrived back I told him we needed to do something and he agreed.
Off we went to buy a new lamp. It was a cheap glass bowl on a plastic casing. But at least the casing and bowl were threaded so essentially it then becomes a screw-top assembly, less likely to become stuck.

After this we did out weekly grocery shopping and then went home.
Once we’d arrived home SO pulled the grocery bag out of the car and we heard ‘PING!’ Obviously the sound of breaking glass. Clearly this was not the juice or wine bottle as no leaking of any liquid could be observed. We instantly knew what it was. The new light bowl!

On the bright side, it was still wrapped so we could throw it away without cutting our hands. As for the light in the cupboard. SO took a hammer to the plastic casing, and changed the bulb in the damaged casing. At least we have light in the cupboard again.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Home life, Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ping!

  1. Gilraen says:

    ingemaresmam wrote on Feb 2, ’09
    enlightened DIY πŸ˜‰

    egeltje wrote on Feb 6, ’09
    How simple can it be to fix a slight problem…

    gilraensurion wrote on Feb 6, ’09
    Fixed would not be how I would describe the light in our cupboard now. Working yes, fixed no. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

