Macamania

have succumbed! I have a MacBook, A MacBookPro to be exact. I’m so happy with it and so utterly skinned after this purchase! Well not really it was a present from the tax department in a way. When I got my tax return the amount was about 90% of a MacBookPro and all i had to do was to wait for it to come though, which was just after macworld. Lucky me!
Having said that I have wanted one for ages, SO has one too. Has had it for about a year and a half now. I love this thing. I really really do.
As I have the newer model we can keep them apart though both at metal coloured and same size. His has a metal keyboard, mine black and his is an LCD screen (matte) and mine a LED with a shine.

I was not too fond of the shiny screen, but figured my old computer was near death (has been for ages) and I need another one and I have been driveling over the Macs for ages, I’d get used to it. I did not want to go for a 13inch screen as I think that is too small hence the choice for the Pro. Of course I had the students discount. It does help to do a course at the open university in some cases. The student discounts alone have made it worth every penny.

Spending this much money on myself always gives me a headache, but that is just tension coming out. I was totally hyper in the store. What a purchase. It is so new, so shiny and so much work to get everything from my old computer to the new one. Reality is that it is more work to get it off the old one than to the new one, but you know that is part of the fun.

As it is Valentines day SO bought me a Mighty Mouse to go with it (called Mousee) and tonight we are going out to a musical (Joseph and his technicolour dreamcoat). I am having a great day.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Pampering, shopping and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Macamania

  1. Gilraen says:

    egeltje wrote on Feb 14, ’09
    I also have a Macbook since the beginning of January. It has a 13″ screen, but it contains the same amount of info as my 14″ Dell from work. What I especially love is the light in the keyboard. It makes it easy to work in the evening sitting on the couch. You do not have to flip on the light if you cannot type blind…

    gilraensurion wrote on Feb 14, ’09
    I know SO has the same. It was great fun to see it the first time. Now we are kind of used to it, but still it does make life a lot easier in the dark. typing blind is still not my forte

Leave a Reply

