Most delightful skiving off day

At present I am networking within my own company. This is a tactic not used enough within our company. We tend to work in our own field of expertise and not let anybody near our deck of cards.
At least that is how it was. A wind of change is blowing through. New consultants are more of the yakerdeyakyak generation. More interested in more things. Anybody who knows me knows that I fit this description and that I am one nosy little customer.  I also love learning new things and enjoy brainstorming to come to a better result.
Recently one of my committees decided to develop an new standard, which impacted heavily on the field of another committee outside of my own team. I toddled off to a colleague, whom I had met once and discussed the matter. We decided to take a different tack and have the standard in concept phase sent to her committee. This is so utterly unusual and strange that it caused a few headaches. But with the help of one of my experts I actually ended up with the result I wanted and more.
It helped that my colleague and I were a joined front and worked well together. Sp shortly after that I saw the announcement of the Aqua exhibition, It was free and on topic, so I asked would she come along and she said yes. So today we skyved off together, beautiful spring day to a technical exhibition about everything to do with water. We had a lovely time, both working and getting to know each other better.  At the exhibition I ended up talking to some interesting people and to some not-so-interesting people. I think one or two contacts will work out and other than that we had fun. One contact was great as it was an in to an organisation that I just did not know where to start. The whole fun experience was helped by free food en drink.

After about 3 hours we’d had enough and went home. Finished off some work at home (still working in between blogging).
Yup I like days like this. You are an working and having fun. That is good living!

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Work and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

