Back to blonde

Just after we got married I decided it was about time to do something different with my hair. I’d been a blonde for nigh on two years and I wanted to have a more winter colour.
My hairdresser talked me out of using a dye and opted for a rinse.  It was a chestnutty brown, but not too dark. Well at least not in the tube. On my blonde hair it came across as quite dark.

Strangely enough there was an immediate division amongst people. People that liked it a lot and people that told me that they preferred me blonde. Personally I was torn. I could see the colour looked good on me, but it just did not make me want to smile at myself in the mirror. The latter realisation was the one that I wanted to be blonde again.

I was very grateful for having had a rinse and not a dye. It would rinse out over a few washes.
The colour rinse had different ideas, the rinse was not letting go. So 6 weeks after my rinse I was still quite dark. Not as dark as initially but  still very dark blonde to brownish.
My hairdresser and I opted for a half head colouring with my preferred blond dye again. Will need another session before I am back where I want to be, but at least I am smiling at myself again n the mirror.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Home life, Pampering and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back to blonde

  1. Gilraen says:

    netheandersen wrote on Apr 16, ’09, edited on Apr 16, ’09
    Ah, this gives me good advice, I think.
    I have been blond from birth, though in resent years darkening to an indecisive paté colour in winter, and I have often played with the idea of a dye to red or brown or …
    But as I do feel tempted to smile at my self in the mirror sometimes, I think I shall leave my hair colour alone. Or stick to a few soft highlights in winter…
    I always wanted to try being a real red head, though, since I seem to have the temper for it already. The risk of a dye turning out pink or purple is too high, though…

    gilraensurion wrote on Apr 17, ’09
    Not with a good red, then there is not a real risk, unless you have a blonde/bleach underneath. A good hairdresser will give you good advice on this. My hairdresser is red often and only turned slightly toward the orange if she’s been spending too much time under the sunbed.
    Besides pink and purple are bright colours too 🙂

    tyellas wrote on Apr 18, ’09
    That’s right, you were blonde when we talked this weekend! No pictures of the darker you?
    After visiting you and getting feedback from both you and your hairdresser, I’ve been hennaing a bit darker, and getting good feedback from folks on the darker red.

Leave a Reply

