Getting ready

Of course the house needs to be sold. We had our estate agent over last week. She gave us some tips and viewed the house to make an assessment on the sales price.

We have had a lot to do, we knew that, but she stopped us with some things. Fro instance I was painting the stairs and she told us not to bother. General rule as to take as much personal stuff out as we could bear, without making it look unlived/unloved.
She also wanted us to convert the office back to a bedroom and clean out the attic.
Now given has been tidying that up it was already a lot better than it was. However she wants it to be empty in order to sell it as a potential extra room.

So we set off to the Shurguard where we have rented storage space. We have organised boxes to pack stuff into. SO is busy upstairs cleaning everything out. I am busy cleaning out our closets of winter clothes to make it look less full and to take the clothing trolley out. This will make our smallest room (aka dressing room) look larger.
Today we took a wardrobe that is there down and all stuff that was in there was sorted in to keep and too old to keep.
It is half empty now so we hope to have this finished by next week. We are paying a small fortune in boxes. So we hope that the end result will be good.

The garden has been taken to a higher level with three new pots (bright pink and turquoise) , a fire basket and some new plants. Cleaning the shed, and the separation with our neighbours It is actually now looking better than ever, or at least since I have been here. Thankfully most of what we have bought will be of the type that will come with us, so no money lost there.
So here we are feeling like we are in the middle of moving house already. I have to admit to taking this harder than I expected. I hope this will be the last time I move house in a very long long time. As it will be my 21st address in 40 years I think I can do with living somewhere a long long time now. Thankfully only a three day week this week. I am utterly tired.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Home life, Moving and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Getting ready

  1. Gilraen says:

    tyellas wrote on Apr 28, ’09
    And your last two moves were pretty intense, too. Soon it will be over and you will have a new nest.

Leave a Reply

