I overdid it!

So with the selling of the house preparations in full swing I overdid it a bit.
I’d mentioned that this was not the best time for a project like this, not for me, nor for SO. However selling the house would be a big plus.

We had a long weekend this weekend and we had decided that the attic would be emptied and sorted. We had other things to get to as well but we thought it would be OK
Thursday started off not to good. Went to buy paint and that took forever to get  A person in front of me was buying about 8 different colours, baby pinks, baby yellow, baby greens and sky blue. Hope I never have to visit that house!
When I arrived home SO has made a real dent in bringing the boxes from the attic to downstairs. We decided to have a coffee and check out the Queensday parade and the clothes the queen and princesses were wearing. Of course this was a mere 3 minutes before the drama hit. I took this one as it is not as graphic as some. After this of course we watched news and listened to news. After about an hour we did continue with our tasks. But let it be said we were not at our best and it showed in the amount of work we did, which was still a lot.
The next day things were going much better, but SO had to work for a bit as well. In the mean time I got a little over enthusiastic and kept bringing things downstairs A few boxes here and there plus other stuff. I was dead afterwards. Then we took a total of 4 drives to the storage area and 2 to the garbage disposal site. It was a big day!

Saturday we started good, but we had time limitations. In the end we did quite a bit but by now I was feeling tired and went to bed in the afternoon. In the evening we attended my in-laws 45th anniversary dinner. Meal was very good and we made a startling discovery. All tables have a drawer and in it people have been putting notes since well at least 1996 (that was the eldest we found). Of course we could not be left behind and added another note. It was really fun to read all these notes from all these events. There were weddings, celebratory and business dinners. Towards the end of the evening I started feeling rather off colour. Apparently this was because I sort of went off colour and palish.
When we cycled home I felt bad. I thought I had overeaten and I felt like throwing up, which I am glad to say I did not.
But Sunday morning I came down with a bad bout of the runners and general overtirediness. I felt so utterly tired and basically collapsed. SO finished the last bit for this weekend on his own.

Given that we have found that about 50% of all stuff was stored in either the office or the attic, and thus by packing that and storing that away we have already moved  a lot of stuff. It is also good to know that our new house will be more than twice the size of our current one so it will all fit 🙂
So here I am sitting on the couch in my PJ feeling sick and tired. Just one more week of chores and then the house is on the market!

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Family, Food, Home life, Moving and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

