Major Ego boost

Whilst SO is playing with very big and insanely expensive gadgets in Germany I am at home alone for the weekend. I will be visiting from Wednesday to Sunday coming week as I have two days off (public holidays). But until then he is busy and I am having a solo weekend.

So what is a girl to do that finds her man away for the weekend and is stressed with buying and selling houses, sorting mortgage, and organising an international conference in Lelystad. This calls for some major retail therapy doesn’t it?

I went into Den Haag (The Hague) with two missions I needed some new shoes to replace my black low boots and I was looking for a nice sundress.
I did succeed and how! I went to my standard shoe shop, but the shoes I really liked were suede and as I have a lot of suede shoes and they tend not to last that long as you can’t clean them properly. And those that were not suede were either too high heeled or had square toes (yuk)
I left without shoes, which is remarkable. So I walked to a store which I usually do not visit but I fell for a little cardigan. It was cheap and I like the colour. From there I went to several shoes shops but there was nothing I really liked. Then I went to one of the cheap cheap stores and I found what I wanted. It is not 100% perfect but who cares for €20?

My next stop was my favourite clothing store, I thought I’d be clear. After all my favourite shop assistant had left. She’d told me. She knows what I like and she is really good in assessing what you need etc. So there I was browsing around and all of a sudden I hear; ‘ Hi there!’  And I am like ‘ Uhm great to see you, why are you here, I thought you’d left?’ In the mean time I am thinking I will be spending money again! Turns out they made her an offer she could not refuse. This was good news I think, but expensive.

I saw a pretty dress and wanted to try is on. Well to be honest I saw several, but this one I really liked. So off I into the changing room. As my favourite assistant was there I am allowed to take lots into the changing room. I saw a top I liked a simple T-shirt. It is nothing too special but quite cute and not a standard plain one.  I tried the dress on. I had taken a size 12 into the changing room. But it was too big. My ‘assistant’ brought me a 8 and 10  and told me to try the 8 first. Oh ok, really nice such  small size. Guess what it was too bog I had to go down to a size 6! but it looks great! again it is size 6! I have never been a 6 before! This is soooooooooutterly cool. Feel so happy about that. Silly I know, but I do.
I am so chuffed. I got lots of comments in store from people that loved in on me. But is a real summer dress and I decided that a bolero so I could also wear it in the evening would be nice. I tried a white, turquoise and a blue one. It makes that I can wear it in a different style, A bit dressier, but still fun.

By that stage I was broke(ish) and decided to just get some zippers for sewing projects and a bread and sausage from the HEMA and go home. It was about 3 when I got home and I was tired but the retail therapy had helped. Just getting away meant that I felt so much more relaxed and ready to take on the banks, estate agents, barristers, hydrobiologists, and chemists again.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Pampering, shopping and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

