Going, going, gone

After getting the house ready into stylist shape she was ready to go onto the market. And boy she did! She was put onto the funda website on the Tuesday.
I left the house on wednesday to see SO after my meeting. By the time I got onto the train to Germany 2 sightings had been booked in for the next Tuesday!. We were so happy.
What happened was the following: We had two sightings that Tuesday that I was very busy in Lelystad. Wednesday two in the morning and one in the afternoon. Also BOTH people from Tuesday had booked n a secondary sighting. One on Thursday and one on Saturday. Plus two more initial sightings were booked for Saturday. We were causing a storm! I called my Estate agent to check in how things were going and she told me that the afternoon session had asked for a cal back so she was confident that a third second sighting was going to take place.
She did ask for fresh flowers as they were starting to look a bit,…………..well, dead.

So I called my SIL at 4.30pm and asked her could she please change them. Talk about putting people on the spot! She had her nearly two year old at home and is 7 months pregnant. I have to admit to having counted on her mum being there as she is most Wednesdays, but she was not. My wonderful SIL then took the kid and her preggers self to the florist and changed the flowers. I sent and SMS to my BIL to give her a big hug!

The next day in the afternoon my estate agent calls. I rush out of the meeting (we were discussing something about coastal hydromorfology and really I did not have a clue what that was) and talked to her. We’d received and offer for our house. It was too low, but it also showed how great the interest in our house was.
She suggested to change tack. She suggested to make the Saturday morning an open home and get everybody in and to pull final bids immediately. She said this will show people how much interest there is in the house and may work in your case. I agreed. SO was told of this change and agreed as well. After all we’d found that our estate agent was very good in her job and things associated with it. We were happy to follow her.

That Saturday morning I left the house before the people would arrive and did not return until after they had left. As the monday was a day off we had to wait until Tuesday to talk to the estate agent. I ended up talking to her assistant as she was not working that day. She told me that all people had been very positive.
The next day we received the outcome. 4 Offers! And one exactly hitting the spot where we wanted to end up. So all we need to do now is to sign the contract and then the three day grace for the buyers and that is that. We’ve suggested 4th of September as the transfer date, which leaves us a month to move house (we get the key on 5th of August)

Still very very tired, but also euphoric and relieved. But please do not mention a housing crisis to us anymore. If you follow your estate agent you can still sell well.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Home life, Moving and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Going, going, gone

  1. Gilraen says:

    tyellas wrote on Jun 9, ’09
    Amazing! Congratulations! I don’t think that if I was going to sell my house right this minute I’ll have such luck…

    egeltje wrote on Jun 13, ’09
    Awesome! Great to sell your house so fast at these times. I think it only indicates that lots of people are trying to sell their house for much more money than it is worth, as the house prices had risen so fast during the last years. But now, as the market is settling down and you are asking a realistic price, it is no issue to sell your house.
    Enjoy the joy of selling, focus on packing and good luck with moving!

Leave a Reply

