Yoga buffet – eat as much as you like

During summer my yoga studio is having a summer schedule. In the past they would close for 6 weeks. This is great for her as she has a daughter, but not so great for those of us that don’t have children and are not into school holidays.
So this year she changed a bit. For €50 we can buy a card and go to every class- unlimited. It allows us to try out different classes and have our exercise as well. Of course the catch was that my regular class was canceled. I ordered the card immediately. This was so totally what I needed.

The studio offers several forms of yoga(ish) classes. Yoga and meditation, Hatha yoga, Power Ashtanga yoga and Pilates. She is also considering mindfullness and has yoga/dance workshops. It is really quite a nice place.
My usual class is power Ashtanga Yoga. It is closest to what I am used to in NZ. At Health& Sports even the yoga classes were not devoid of a Sports studio attitude :-). I love my class, but to be honest after two years I can do most of it form the top of my head. Which in turn is good as it means I do it at home as well.

But this summer schedule promised some new challenges and I took them. Last week I started off with Hatha. As this is a more subtle form of yoga I was thinking easy peasy. Yeah right! As the asenas are held for longer the stress on the muscles is different and has a different level of intensity. Towards the end of the class I was thinking, are we going to do anything? But clearly not much.  The next day, however, i was fully aware that something had been done. My back muscles in between my shoulder blades were burning. Just as well SO was home as i so utterly needed that massage! Even a hug hurt. Not because of tension, but because of a burning sensation. It was really odd. And though it sounds goofy, it felt kinda good as well. As if my muscles were screaming as you your tongue would after eating sushi with a wasabi overdose. It has a certain je ne sais quoi to it. An instant love-hate relationship between hatha yoga and my back muscles developed. I will be going back for more.

This week I opted for Pilates. Having done Pilates in NZ under Darren I was a little apprehensive about the intensity. Darren’s Pilates class was a total killer (remember them Trine?)
Ha! I need not have worried. Even after 7 hours of jumping around in the aerobics studio Darren was much more ruthless and unforgiving in his Pilates class than my yoga teacher. Not that this class was a piece of cake. It certainly was not. I felt my leg muscles burn (burn baby burn) and I think I am having a corset of stomach muscle pain tomorrow, but nothing compared to what Darren was guilty of. At least not in my memory. It could of course be that I am in better shape now as well.

So far this summer trip around my yoga studio is looking good. I think next week again Pilates and possibly Hatha again. After that I can take it one week at a time and also take a day class. It feels so good, you know. It is so much fun to try out these different flavours of yoga again. It makes me hungry for more.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Home life, Sports and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yoga buffet – eat as much as you like

  1. Gilraen says:

    gilraensurion wrote on Jul 21, ’09
    Just to note: no corset stomach pain Just a sore bottom. Actually not feeling too bad about it. I must be in a better shape than last time I started Pilates

    trinewarming wrote on Jul 21, ’09
    Do I remember Darrens pilates classes… Do I EVER! :o)
    I am glad to hear that you also thought them tough. ;o)

    There is one day in particular, which I remember. Normally Darren ended the routine with 3½ minutes of relaxation accompanied by Eva Cassidys version of “Over the Rainbow”, but on this particular day, he somehow got the CD’s mixed up, and the first couple of seconds of “Disco Wonderland” blasted out of the speakers before he could turn it off! :oD

    I am really impressed that you are so active – I don’t even manage to do the 20 situps each evening, that I promised myself in order to try and do some post-childbirth damage control to my abs (or lack thereof)…

    gilraensurion wrote on Jul 21, ’09
    Darren could be a real sadist on occasion, but he was good at his job.
    I was not very happy when I had to give up his class.

    As for the activity. I think the trick is to find something you actually like doing vs have to do. Makes it a lot easier to do it and to get round to it

Leave a Reply

