Creatures of habit

We are creatures of habit, all people are to an extent. Yet habits change significantly when moving house. Partially due to change in lay out of the house of course, but also because of the environment  where the house is located. Even in our case when the distance is less than a kilometer
Since we have moved we walk a lot more, into town that is. The supermarket here is as far as the (different) supermarket was at our old place, yet I hardly went there. Granted our new local is open a decent hours (7am-9pm plus Sunday 9am-6pm) but also the fact that a lot of the area is car unfriendly helps. We get bread at the bakery often. We had one close at our old place too, hardly ever used it.
Both of us are finding this new part of the lifestyle quite a nice change. To be able to walk to stores, cafes restaurants and yet the place is calm and less noisy than our old place. even when raining it is less noisy than in the old place.

When we bought the house everybody was amused at the fact that with three staircases you walk up and down a lot. It is fun to note that after a week it is standard and not an issue anymore. Sure we try, when possible to combine things. There is always something on the stairs that needs to go up or down, but that was not different in the old place.
The house is in decent shape now and we are at the end of our holiday. Tomorrow it is working time for us again. On the one hand this is good as it will organise our lives again. On the other hand not good as I feel I could sleep another few weeks without trouble. I think I opt for the getting organised again. I think that will give energy and focus. Besides I know I am going to be very busy the next three to four weeks.
Not only with work, there is still a new kitchen to install.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Home life, Moving and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Creatures of habit

  1. Gilraen says:

    egeltje wrote on Sep 4, ’09
    I started running during the last week of my vacation. I have a course with lessons in the form of Podcasts and it really helps me to get relaxed again after work. Even though your email box is still more than full after a couple of days at work, if you go home you only think: “I want to go running”. It is thus obvious that it is not difficult to keep on running and not throw your shoes in a corner after a week… And the nice thing is, you can still do it while travelling…

Leave a Reply

